Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Class of 79 2022 main copy
The generosity of a group of Otago Medical School graduates continues to support students at Otago. This year, three Class of 1979 Undergraduate Medical Scholarships have been awarded to second and third-year medical students Biruk Mengstu, Caitlyn Roberts and Gabriella Alexandra.

The scholarship fund was started after the class's 20 year-reunion and has grown through a combination of lump sums and regular contributions.

Administered by the Otago Foundation Trust, the scholarships are valued at $3,000 each and applicants must be enrolled in the second or third year of the course leading to the degrees of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery at Otago.

The Class of '79 initially held reunions every 10 years but have made them five yearly since 2004, and a presentation about recent scholarship recipients is shown at every reunion. The next Otago Medical School Class of '79 reunion is planned for Wellington in 2024.

The 2022 scholarship recipients (front row left to right) Biruk Mengstu, Caitlyn Roberts and Gabriella Alexandra are pictured with scholarship fund trustees (back row left to right) Mike Hunter, Professor Rob Walker and Dr Sharleen Johnston.

Back to top