Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 4 October 2018 8:56pm

University staff are encouraged to sign up for Smart Travel - a new website and free app to help users find others to share their journey.

Arranging ride shares has just become easier in Dunedin, with a new website and free app to help users find others to share their journey – saving time and money, reducing traffic on busy roads and cutting greenhouse gas emissions.

Smart Travel is not only for organising safe, friendly, shared rides to and from work.

Both the website and app show all options for journeys as well, including public transport, walking and cycling.

University departments could even use the technology to run challenges, by tracking the kilometres staff have walked, cycled or ride-shared in a month.

Get involved

The University of Otago and the Otago Polytechnic are collaborating to bring Smart Travel to staff from today, as a soft launch for the Dunedin City Council.

To register and download the Smart Travel app, go to: if you are at least 18 years old.

Joining brings rewards

Joining is easy and brings rewards.

Joining Smart Travel can bring a host of rewards:

  • more people in fewer cars freeing up precious car parks
  • meeting new people and expanding your professional network
  • improving your health by walking or cycling
  • winning great prizes.

To encourage people to register and log their sustainable transport trips, a range of prizes are on offer.

Every time people log their car pool trips on a commute calendar, they automatically go in the draw to win a reward for their commitment to sustainable transport.

Users are encouraged to keep an eye on the website because new rewards will be added regularly thanks to the support of several organisations.

Logging trips in the commute calendar earns users points for competitions.

Who is involved?

Local councils and transport agencies around New Zealand have worked together to provide Smart Travel.

Both the website and app are collectively owned by Auckland Transport, Hamilton City Council, Bay of Plenty Regional Council, Hawkes Bay Regional Council, New Plymouth District Council, Horizons Manawatu, Greater Wellington Regional Council, Nelson City/Tasman District Council, Environment Canterbury, West Coast District Council, Dunedin City Council.

Back to top