Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Microbiology and Immunology

Clocktower.
 

Microbiology Building, School of Biomedical Sciences, Health Sciences

Email Addressmicrobiology@otago.ac.nz
Website
http://www.otago.ac.nz/Microbiology
FaxDDI: +64 3 479 8540
Dunedin: 8540

Professor Clive Ronson Head of DepartmentDDI: +64 3 479 7701
Dunedin: 7701
hod.microbiology@otago.ac.nz
Jennifer Van Eunen SecretaryDDI: +64 3 479 7734
Dunedin: 7734
jennifer.vaneunen@otago.ac.nz
Muriel Brisard-Smith Departmental Administrator / PA to HODDDI: +64 3 479 7283
Dunedin: 7283
manager.microbiology@otago.ac.nz

Academic Staff

Dr Judith Bateup Senior Teaching FellowDDI: +64 3 479 8053
Dunedin: 8053
judith.bateup@otago.ac.nz
Dr Mihnea Bostina LecturerDDI: +64 3 470 4696
Dunedin: 4696
mihnea.bostina@otago.ac.nz
Professor Gregory Cook MicrobiologistDDI: +64 3 479 7722
Dunedin: 7722
greg.cook@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Peter Fineran MicrobiologistDDI: +64 3 479 7735
Dunedin: 7735
peter.fineran@otago.ac.nz
Emeritus Professor Frank Griffin Director Ag@otagoDDI: +64 3 479 7799
Dunedin: 7799
frank.griffin@otagoinnovation.com
Dr Matloob Husain Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 470 3420
Dunedin: 3420
matloob.husain@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Keith Ireton MicrobiologistDDI: +64 3 479 7396
Dunedin: 7396
keith.ireton@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Roslyn Kemp ImmunologistDDI: +64 3 479 7708
Dunedin: 7708
roslyn.kemp@otago.ac.nz
Dr Joanna Kirman Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 479 7714
Dunedin: 7714
jo.kirman@otago.ac.nz
Dr Warren McBurney Professional Practice FellowDDI: +64 3 470 4672
Dunedin: 4672
warren.mcburney@otago.ac.nz
Associate Professor Alexander McLellan ImmunologistDDI: +64 3 479 7728, +64 3 479 7147 (Laboratory)
Dunedin: 7728, 7147 (Laboratory)
alex.mclellan@otago.ac.nz
Dr Sergio Morales Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 479 3140
Dunedin: 3140
sergio.morales@otago.ac.nz
Dr Xochitl Morgan Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 479 7738
Dunedin: 7738
xochitl.morgan@otago.ac.nz
Dr Jennifer (Jen) Robson Teaching FellowDDI: +64 3 479 8475
Dunedin: 8475
jennifer.robson@otago.ac.nz
Professor Clive Ronson Head of DepartmentDDI: +64 3 479 7701
Dunedin: 7701
clive.ronson@otago.ac.nz
Dr Bruce Russell Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 479 7082
Dunedin: 7082
b.russell@otago.ac.nz
Dr Robin Simmonds Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 479 7478
Dunedin: 7478
robin.simmonds@otago.ac.nz
Professor Gerald Tannock MicrobiologistDDI: +64 3 479 7713
Dunedin: 7713
gerald.tannock@otago.ac.nz
Dr James Ussher Senior LecturerDDI: +64 3 479 5942
Dunedin: 5942
james.ussher@otago.ac.nz
Professor Vernon Ward Dean Biomedical SciencesDDI: +64 3 479 9028
Dunedin: 9028
vernon.ward@otago.ac.nz

Research and General Staff

Raelene Abernethy Administration AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 4542
Dunedin: 4542
raelene.abernethy@otago.ac.nz
Janice Allan Senior Class Prep TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 7707
Dunedin: 7707
janice.allan@otago.ac.nz
Htin Aung Postdoctoral Fellowhtin.aung@otago.ac.nz
Ambarish Biswas Research Fellow / Departmental BioinformaticianDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
ambarish.biswas@otago.ac.nz
Laura Burga Research FellowDDI: +64 3 479 4542, +64 3 479 7729
Dunedin: 4542, 7729
laura.burga@yahoo.com
Manuela Centanni Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 471 6061
Dunedin: 6061
manuela.centanni@otago.ac.nz
Da-Yuan Chen Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 470 4676
Dunedin: 4676
da-yuan.chen@otago.ac.nz
Chen-Yi (James) Cheung Assistant Research FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7733
Dunedin: 7733
chen-yi.cheung@otago.ac.nz
Allan Clark Technology ManagerDDI: +64 3 479 5646
Dunedin: 5646
allan.clark@otago.ac.nz
Megan Coleman Compliance Manager / Health and Safety OfficerDDI: +64 3 479 4568
Dunedin: 4568
megan.coleman@otago.ac.nz
Jo Cramond Publicity Co-ordinatorDDI: +64 3 479 8479
Dunedin: 8479
jo.cramond@otago.ac.nz
John Crowley Finance ManagerDDI: +64 3 479 7732
Dunedin: 7732
john.crowley@otago.ac.nz
Naomi Daniels Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 5876
Dunedin: 5876
naomi.daniels@otago.ac.nz
Rachel Darnell Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 4754, +64 3 479 5876
Dunedin: 4754, 5876
rachel.darnell@otago.ac.nz
Robert Fagerlund Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 471 6464
Dunedin: 6464
robert.fagerlund@otago.ac.nz
Scott Ferguson Assistant Research FellowDDI: +64 3 479 8817
Dunedin: 8817
scott.ferguson@otago.ac.nz
Clare Fitzpatrick Teaching Fellow / Head TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 7736
Dunedin: 7736
clare.fitzpatrick@otago.ac.nz
Antonella Gianfelice Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
antonella.gianfelice@otago.ac.nz
Jocelyn Griffith Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
jocelyn.griffith@otago.ac.nz
Megan Hall Senior Class Prep Technician / Teaching FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7707
Dunedin: 7707
megan.hall@otago.ac.nz
Rachel Hannaway Laboratory ManagerDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
rachel.hannaway@otago.ac.nz
Kiel Hards Assistant Research FellowDDI: +64 3 479 8373
Dunedin: 8373
kiel.hards@otago.ac.nz
Chris Harry Purchasing OfficerDDI: +64 3 479 5396
Dunedin: 5396
chris.harry@otago.ac.nz
Ning Huang Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 4544
Dunedin: 4544
ning.huang@otago.ac.nz
Alan Hughes Senior Research TechnicianDDI: +64 3 471 6061
Dunedin: 6061
alan.hughes@otago.ac.nz
Simon Jackson Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 471 6464
Dunedin: 6464
simon.jackson@otago.ac.nz
Blair Lawley Scientific OfficerDDI: +64 3 479 6084
Dunedin: 6084
blair.lawley@otago.ac.nz
Yang Li Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
yang.li@otago.ac.nz
Debbie Mair Lab AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 5031
Dunedin: 5031
debbie.mair@otago.ac.nz
Anthony Major Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 471 6465
Dunedin: 6465
anthony.major@otago.ac.nz
Nicola Marechal Lab ManagerDDI: +64 3 479 7733
Dunedin: 7733
nicola.marechal@otago.ac.nz
Dr Michelle McConnell Senior Research Fellow / Biological Compliance OfficerDDI: +64 3 479 5729, +64 3 479 6539
Dunedin: 5729, 6539
michelle.mcconnell@otago.ac.nz
Janet McLay Class Prep TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 7706
Dunedin: 7706
janet.mclay@otago.ac.nz
Roman Mortuza Assistant Research FellowDDI: +64 3 479 8373
Dunedin: 8373
roman.mortuza@otago.ac.nz
Sonya Mros Senior Research TechnicianDDI: +64 3 471 6061
Dunedin: 6061
sonya.mros@otago.ac.nz
Jodi Mutch Lab TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 7707
Dunedin: 7707
jodi.mutch@otago.ac.nz
Yoshio Nakatani Research Fellowyoshio.nakatani@otago.ac.nz
Rebecca Renton Lab AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 5031
Dunedin: 5031
rebecca.renton@otago.ac.nz
Sarah Sandford Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 5876
Dunedin: 5876
sarah.sandford@otago.ac.nz
Sarah Saunderson Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7147
Dunedin: 7147
sarah.saunderson@otago.ac.nz
Marion Schneider Postdoctoral FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
marion.schneider@otago.ac.nz
Yosuke Shimaki Assistant Research Fellowyosuke.shimaki@otago.ac.nz
Jackie (Anne) Spencer Lab AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 5031
Dunedin: 5031
jackie.spencer@otago.ac.nz
Dr John Sullivan Assistant Research Fellowjohn.sullivan@otago.ac.nz
Noi Suwanarusk Research Fellownoi.suwanarusk@otago.ac.nz
Corinda Taylor TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 7733
Dunedin: 7733
corinda.taylor@otago.ac.nz
Essie Van Zuylen Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 8373
Dunedin: 8373
essie.vanzuylen@otago.ac.nz
Cecilia Wang Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
cecilia.wang@otago.ac.nz
Michelle Wilson Senior Research TechnicianDDI: +64 3 470 4754 (Laboratory), +64 3 479 5876
Dunedin: 4754 (Laboratory), 5876
michelle.wilson@otago.ac.nz
Roy Yao ICT Support TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 4594
Dunedin: 4594
roy.yao@otago.ac.nz
Vivienne Young Scientific OfficerDDI: +64 3 479 7307
Dunedin: 7307
vivienne.young@otago.ac.nz

Laboratory Contacts

Lab 406 Kirman/KempDDI: +64 3 479 7711
Dunedin: 7711
Lab McLellanDDI: +64 3 479 7147
Dunedin: 7147
Lab 504 Dr Ireton / Brooks / Morales groupsDDI: +64 3 479 5155
Dunedin: 5155
Labs 506 & 501DDI: +64 3 479 7715
Dunedin: 7715
6th Floor Cook LabDDI: +64 3 479 8373
Dunedin: 8373
7th Floor VRUDDI: +64 3 479 7729
Dunedin: 7729
8th Floor McConnell LabDDI: +64 3 479 5729
Dunedin: 5729
8th Floor Tannock LabDDI: +64 3 471 6084
Dunedin: 6084
3rd Floor Media Preparation RoomDDI: +64 3 479 7706, +64 3 479 5031
Dunedin: 7706, 5031
2nd Floor Stage 2 LaboratoryDDI: +64 3 479 7707
Dunedin: 7707

Virus Research Unit | 7th Floor, Microbiology Building

Professor Andy (Andrew A.) Mercer Director / Chair of Viral PathogenesisDDI: +64 3 479 7730
Dunedin: 7730
andy.mercer@otago.ac.nz
Amy Dunn TechnicianDDI: +64 3 479 7729
Dunedin: 7729
amy.dunn@otago.ac.nz
Dr Steve Fleming Senior Research FellowDDI: +64 3 479 7727
Dunedin: 7727
stephen.fleming@otago.ac.nz
Pramit Patel Research AssistantDDI: +64 3 479 4542
Dunedin: 4542
pramit.patel@otago.ac.nz
Ellena Whelan LaboratoryDDI: +64 3 479 7729 (Laboratory)
Dunedin: 7729 (Laboratory)
ellena.whelan@otago.ac.nz
Ellena Whelan Technician (Technician Room)DDI: +64 3 479 4542
Dunedin: 4542
ellena.whelan@otago.ac.nz

Safety Officers

Megan Coleman Compliance Manager / Health and Safety OfficerDDI: +64 3 479 4568
Dunedin: 4568
megan.coleman@otago.ac.nz

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.