Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

For staff

Following are the contact details for some Māori staff and their offices at the University. You can also contact individual Divisions and Departments and ask to speak to people involved in the area in which you are seeking information. If in doubt, the Office of Māori Development can assist or any one of the offices or people listed below.

Office of Māori Development

The University established the Office of Māori Development (OMD) following Council’s endorsement of its Māori Strategic Framework (MSF) in 2007 (see also information on the MSF's developmental history). The 2005 Treaty of Waitangi Stocktake clearly identified that while a large and varied range of activity was occurring in the area of Māori development, it lacked a cohesive ‘map’ as well as clear, centralised leadership. The development and implementation of the MSF therefore initiated an institutional change for the University, led from the Vice-Chancellor’s Office. It ‘normalised’ Māori development at the University, and has since become a natural part of life across all of the University’s four campuses.

The main role of the OMD is to provide leadership to both academic and service divisions and to create opportunities for information sharing, clear communication and collaboration, enabling the MSF to move off the page and into the workplace.

The Office also manages the University’s Treaty partnerships and a variety of other projects associated with Māori development.


Tuari Potiki
Kāi Tahu, Kāti Mamoe, Waitaha
Tel +64 3 479 8420

Research Manager Māori

Mark Brunton
Kāi Tahu
Tel +64 3 479 8738

Information on the Maori Research Consultation Policy.

Senior Project Manager

Claire Porima
Waikato, Ngāti Hikairo
Tel +64 3 479 7461

Project Manager

Matt Matahaere
Kāi Tahu
Tel +64 3 479 8074

Personal Assistant/Administrator

Hinerangi Nielsen
Waikato, Ngāti Apakura
Tel +64 3 479 8081

Contact Hinerangi to receive a copy of the Māori Strategic Framework.

Māori staff networks

Awhi Mai Awhi Atu (AMAA)
AMAA is a network of Māori staff and staff who support Māori staff and/or students at the University of Otago.

As its Constitution outlines, it exists to:

  • Foster a supportive environment for Māori staff in the University of Otago;
  • Encourage whakawhanaungatanga among Māori staff employed in any capacity by the University of Otago;
  • Affirm, support and strengthen the role of Māori staff in the University community and create a climate for the sharing of knowledge and expertise for the benefit of all;

Seek to achieve the above aims and objectives by:

  • Providing opportunities for social contact among Māori staff employed by the University of Otago;
  • Providing a forum for discussion of matters of common interest;
  • Instituting action to appropriately affirm, support and strengthen the role of Māori staff in the University community; and
  • Responding to any public comment or issues relating to the role of Māori staff.

Māori Health units

The University has three Schools of Medicine; one in Dunedin, one in Christchurch and another in Wellington.

Each of these schools has a Māori health unit; contact information for each unit is listed below:

Māori and Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI)


Suzanne Pitama
Ngāti Kahungunu ki Wairoa, Ngāti Whare
Tel +64 3 364 3677

Te Roopu Rangahau Hauroa a Eru Pomare


Bridget Robson
Ngāti Raukawa
Tel +64 4 918 5784

Ngāi Tahu Maori Health Research Unit

Director of NTMHRU

Dr. Emma Wyeth
Tel +64 3 479 4064
Web: Ngāi Tahu Māori Healh Research Unit

Hauora Maori

Associate Dean

Dr. Joanne Baxter Kāi Tahu/Ngāti Apa ki Te Rā To
Tel +64 3 479 7176