Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Emerging Investigator Award for Dr Khoon Lim

Wednesday 2 June 2021 9:09am

Dr Khoon Lim with 3D printer behind 226 newsOtago researcher Dr Khoon Lim has been honoured by his Australasian colleagues with the ASBTE Emerging Investigator Award for 2021.

The Australasian Society for Biomaterials and Tissue Engineering (ASBTE) award is given every second year to a single recipient, and recognises early career researchers who have demonstrated outstanding research contributions in the field. It also acknowledges the recipient’s potential for a future distinguished career.

Dr Lim was quick to thank ASBTE for the recognition, noting that he felt “super honoured and thrilled to win” the award. In a tweet he expressed his thanks to those who had nominated him, Professor Jason A. Burdick of University of Pennsylvania and Professor Tim Woodfield of the University of Otago, as well as to his mentors, Associate Professor Penny Martens (UNSW), Professor Laura Poole-Warren (UNSW), Professor Andrea O-Connor (UMelb), Dr Jelena Rnjak-Kovacina (UNSW), Dr Brooke Farrugia (UMelb), Dr You Suk Choi (UWA), and Dr Anna Waterhouse (USyd). He also wishes to acknowledge the funding sources from the Health Research Council of New Zealand and Royal Society of New Zealand that have allow him to pursue his research passion.

Dr Lim was also recently recognised for his leadership values by an award from his colleagues at the University of Otago, Christchurch campus.