Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Sun striking the Clocktower


The Vice-Chancellor established the Equity Advisory Committee in late 2013 to develop an over-arching understanding of equity matters arising within the University community, identify associated issues and opportunities, and report on these to the Senior Leadership Team.

Terms of Reference

  • To promote and monitor progress within the University Equity and Diversity Strategic Framework, Action Plan and Policy.
  • To provide informed guidance and advice on the development of evidence-based resources to support the growth of capability through a range of professional development activities.
  • To act as an approved conduit for receiving and reviewing information and initiating next appropriate steps including
    • to raise matters pertaining to equity to the highest levels of the institution arising from committee research and on behalf of students and staff, without constraint or fear of reprisal;
    • to receive equity related audit findings and work with University leaders to develop responses;
    • to support compliance with legislative obligations.
  • To document issues faced by existing equity groups.
  • To raise awareness across the University, form communication channels relating to equity matters, and coordinate with other equity-related committees and groups.
  • To receive reports as mandated by the University Equity and Diversity Strategic Framework and Action Plan.
  • The Equity Advisory Committee with report annually to the Vice Chancellor and Senior Leadership Team on matters brought to the attention of the equity committee, focus areas, achievements, and trend analysis of themes that present regularly.
  • The Vice Chancellor will report through the People and Culture Committee or any other suitable committee to Council at least annually on focus areas, achievements and planning with the aim of demonstrating broader equity and diversity progress against the background of the Equity and Diversity Strategic Framework and Action Plan.
  • To meet a minimum of four times per year.


  • Convener (nominee of Vice-Chancellor)
  • Secretary to the Committee (appointed)
  • Māori staff representative (nominee of Vice Chancellor)
  • Pacific staff representative (nominee of Vice Chancellor)
  • Division of Commerce representative (nominee of PVC Commerce)
  • Division of Health Sciences representatives (two nominees of PVC Health Sciences)
  • Division of Humanities representative (nominee of PVC Humanities)
  • Division of Sciences representative (nominee of PVC Sciences)
  • Non-Academic Divisions representatives (up to three nominees of the Chief Operating Officer, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
  • Academic and Deputy Vice-Chancellor External Engagement)
  • Human Resources representative (nominee of HR Director)
  • Human Resources Manager, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion
  • Representative nominated by Te Poutama Māori
  • Representative nominated by Pacific Leadership Group
  • Strategy, Analytics and Reporting Office representative (nominee of Director)
  • OUSA representative (OUSA Welfare and Equity Representative or their nominee)
  • Representative nominated by campus unions (TEU, PSU, E tū, AWUNZ)
  • Representatives co-opted by the Committee to address specific equity issues

Meeting schedule

Meetings are held approximately four times a year.

Current membership

Professor Christina Hulbe (Chair)School of
Law AviaOffice of Pacific
Jo GibsonStudent
Associate Professor Maria HookFaculty of
Associate Professor Tristram InghamDepartment of Medicine (UOW)
Rosalie IvalaOffice of Pacific
Denise LindsayOrganisational
Joe LlewellynOrganisational
Associate Professor Meredith PerrySchool of
Jesikah TriscottSustainability
Professor Sara WaltonDepartment of
Gareth WoodIT Enterprise
Professor Rachel ZajacDepartment of
Back to top