Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Quality Advancement Committee

Clocktower clock

The Quality Advancement Committee is a committee of Senate. The Committee acts as a forum for the discussion and promotion of developments in academic quality assurance and quality enhancement, whether internally driven or externally indicated.

Terms of Reference

  • To undertake critical reflection on the University’s commitment to academic quality with a focus on the key processes used for evaluating the quality of academic activity.
  • To engage with staff, students and other interested parties to foster networks that promote and raise the awareness of the significance of academic quality processes throughout the University.
  • To identify key elements that should form part of the University’s quality advancement framework and oversee and monitor developments in relation to this activity.
  • To consider reports on the implementation of quality improvement programmes such as the internal reviews programme, core institutional surveys, and quality improvement grant funding.
  • To contribute to, and take a leadership role in, the University’s preparations for external Academic Quality Agency (AQA) academic audits and to provide advice, input and support in relation to this activity.
  • To consider and comment on the University’s academic audit reports, follow-up reports and the processes put in place for monitoring the implementation of academic audit outcomes.
  • To identify examples of good practice and other areas requiring improvement to communicate within the University and any issues for further consideration by the Vice-Chancellor, Senate or other University committees, arising from the terms of reference above.

^ Top of Page


Composition Member Expiry date (if applicable)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) (Convener) Professor Helen Nicholson Ex-officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise)  or nominee Professor Richard Blaikie Ex-officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Commerce Dr Viktoria Kahui 31 December 2022
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Health Sciences Associate Professor Stephanie Woodley 31 December 2022
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Humanities Dr Simon Connell 31 December 2024
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Sciences Professor Niels Kjaergaard 31 December 2023
Director, International Jason Cushen Ex-officio
Director, Student and Academic Services Claire Gallop Ex-officio
Head, Student Experience Jo Gibson Ex-officio

Two members appointed by Senate

Associate Professor Jackie Hunter 31 December 2022
Associate Professor Lynn McBain 31 December 2022
Director (or nominee), Strategy, Analytics and Reporting Office Mr Kevin Maley 31 December 2024
Head (or nominee), Higher Education Development Centre Professor Kerry Shepherd 31 December 2024
Dean, School of Graduate Research Professor David Baxter Ex-officio
Director, Quality Advancement Margaret Morgan Ex-officio
OUSA representative Caitlin Hancy 31 December 2022
Co-opted Professor Tim Cooper 31 December 2022
Māori and Pacific representatives TBC
In attendance
Committee Secretary Carol Forbes (

The Board has the power to co-opt as required.

^ Top of Page

Meetings dates for 2022

QAC meeting dates (Tuesdays at 2:00pm) Deadline for Agenda Item Submission
1 February Monday 24 February
3 May Friday 22 April
2 August Monday 25 July
1 November Friday 21 October