Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Clocktower clock

The Quality Advancement Committee is a committee of Senate. The Committee acts as a forum for the discussion and promotion of developments in academic quality assurance and quality enhancement, whether internally driven or externally indicated.

Terms of Reference

  • To undertake critical reflection on the University's commitment to academic quality with a focus on the key processes used for evaluating the quality of academic activity.
  • To engage with staff, students and other interested parties to foster networks that promote and raise the awareness of the significance of academic quality processes throughout the University.
  • To identify key elements that should form part of the University's quality advancement framework and oversee and monitor developments in relation to this activity.
  • To consider reports on the implementation of quality improvement programmes such as the internal reviews programme,  core institutional surveys, and  quality improvement grant funding.
  • To contribute to, and take a leadership role in, the University's preparations for external Academic Quality Agency (AQA) academic audits and to provide advice, input and support in relation to this activity.
  • To consider and comment on the University's academic audit reports, follow-up reports and the processes put in place for monitoring the implementation of academic audit outcomes.
  • To identify examples of good practice and other areas requiring improvement to communicate within the University and any issues for further consideration by the Vice-Chancellor, Senate or other University committees, arising from the terms of reference above.


CompositionMemberExpiry date (if applicable)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) (Convener)Professor Stuart BrockEx-officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise) or nomineeProfessor Richard BlaikieEx-officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of CommerceAssociate Professor Helen Roberts31 December 2025
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Health SciencesProfessor Robin Turner31 December 2025
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of HumanitiesDr Simon Connell31 December 2024
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of SciencesProfessor Niels Kjaergaard31 December 2024
Director, InternationalJason CushenEx-officio
Director, Student and Academic ServicesClaire GallopEx-officio
Director, Student ExperienceJo GibsonEx-officio

Two members appointed by Senate

Professor Anna HIgh31 December 2022
Associate Professor Andrew Trotman31 December 2025
Director (or nominee), Strategy, Analytics and Reporting OfficeMr Kevin Maley31 December 2024
Head (or nominee), Higher Education Development CentreProfessor Kerry Shepherd31 December 2024
Dean, School of Graduate ResearchProfessor David BaxterEx-officio
Director, Quality AdvancementMargaret MorganEx-officio
OUSA representativeStella Lynch31 December 2024
Co-optedProfessor Tim Cooper31 December 2024
Māori and Pacific representativesAmanda Taia31 December 2025
In attendance  
Committee SecretaryCarol Forbes ( 

The Board has the power to co-opt as required.

Meetings dates for 2024

QAC meeting dates (Tuesdays at 2:00pm)Deadline for Agenda Item Submission
5 MarchMonday 26 February
7 MayMonday 29 April
6 AugustMonday 29 July
5 NovemberFriday 25 October
Back to top