Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The Scholarships and Prizes Committee is a sub-committee of Senate, with oversight of University scholarships and Prizes.

Terms of Reference

  • To provide leadership and strategic advice on matters related to scholarships and prizes;
  • To submit such recommendations as it deems necessary to the Senate on policy and rules relating to the award of scholarships and prizes in the University, including proposals for new or amended scholarships and prizes;
  • To approve the award of University scholarships and prizes as delegated;
  • To recommend the award of other such scholarships and prizes as may be entrusted to it;
  • To provide oversight of the scholarship and prize programmes at the University of Otago, including monitoring of the allocation of funds;
  • To monitor candidates awarded University of Otago scholarships and grant approvals or make other decisions as are permitted by the regulations for such scholarships;
  • To select candidates for nomination for national external scholarships;
  • To report an annual list of scholarships and prizes to Senate;
  • To delegate its functions as appropriate.


Composition of the BoardMember 
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise) (Convenor)Professor Richard BlaikieEx officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)Professor Stuart BrockEx officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (External Engagement)Megan McPherson (Interim DVC(EE))Ex officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of CommerceProfessor Maree ThyneEx officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of Health SciencesAssociate Professor Megan Gibbons
Alternate: Professor Chrys Jaye
Ex officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of HumanitiesProfessor Jessica PalmerEx officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee), Division of SciencesProfessor Richard Barker
Alternate: Professor Brendan McCane
Ex officio

In Attendance

Dean, Graduate Research SchoolAssociate Professor Diane RuwhiuEx officio
Manager, Undergraduate Entrance Scholarships,
Division of External Engagement
Ben RickerbyEx officio
Manager Postgraduate Scholarships, Prizes and Awards
Research Division
Peter BostonEx officio
Committee Secretary, Academic Committees and ServicesMichelle Bennie 

The University of Otago's representative on the Universities New Zealand Scholarships Committee is Professor David Baxter.

Meeting dates

The Scholarships Committee normally meets three times per year, as required.

Back to top