Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 8 October 2020 10:04am

Heart Foundation grants image
Dr Sarah Appleby, Dr Moritz Lassé and Associate Professor Miriam Rademaker are some of the Otago researchers who have been awarded Heart Foundation grants.

University of Otago researchers feature prominently in the latest Heart Foundation award of grants and Research Fellowships.

“Research into heart disease is a special focus for us and it great to see our researchers having repeated success in obtaining research funding,” Division of Health Sciences Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Paul Brunton said.

Six Otago academics have received project grants totalling $500,000 to further their research.

Five of the six available three-year Research Fellowships have also come Otago's way. The fellowships allow graduates to engage in full-time research related to the aims of the Heart Foundation.

The recipients are spread across Otago's three Health Sciences campuses in Dunedin, Wellington and Christchurch.

Heart Foundation Medical Director Dr Gerry Devlin said ongoing study was vital to save lives and improve the improve the quality of life for the 170,000 New Zealanders living with heart disease.

"The Heart Foundation is supporting so much exciting research in 2020. Research that will make a real difference to so many Kiwis."

Project Grants:

Dr Sarah Appleby (Department of Medicine, Christchurch) Assessment of novel biomarkers in patients with heart failure and associated co-morbidities - $150,000

Dr Moritz Lassé (Department of Medicine, Christchurch) Understanding why circulating NT-proBNP in Pasifika may be lower than in European New Zealanders - $157,549

Associate Professor Miriam Rademaker (Department of Medicine, Christchurch) Phosphodiesterase-9 inhibition versus/plus neprilysin inhibition in experimental heart failure. $154,802

Small Project Grants:

Dr Kathryn Hally (Department of Surgery and Anaesthesia, Wellington) Platelet activation in response to neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs) in acute myocardial infarction (AMI) - $12,385 over 1 year

Dr Anna Pilbrow (Department of Medicine, Christchurch) Discovering circulating markers of acute kidney injury in acute decompensated heart failure - $14,900 over 1 year

Dr Timothy Prickett (Department of Medicine, Christchurch) Assessment of Osteocrin as a Novel Cardiovascular Biomarker - $15,000 over 12 months

Three-year Research Fellowships:

Dr Janice Chew-Harris (Department of Medicine, Christchurch)

Dr Sarah Harris (Department of Paediatrics, Christchurch)

Dr Amelia Power (Department of Physiology, Dunedin)

Dr Lindsay Robertson (Department of Preventive and Social Medicine, Dunedin)

Miss Evelyn Templeton (Department of Medicine, Christchurch

Back to top