Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The Mozart Fellowship was established in 1969 to aid and encourage composers of music in the practice and advancement of their art, to associate them with the life of the University and to foster an interest in contemporary music within the University and in the community. The work of the Mozart Fellow may be performed in concert during their Fellowship year.

The annual, 12-month Fellowship provides a studio/office space and not less than the minimum salary of a fulltime university lecturer. It is open to composers who are normally resident in New Zealand who, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, have demonstrated their ability and talent, and the intention of pursuing a career in music, and would benefit from holding the Fellowship.

See the list of all previous Mozart Fellowship recipients

The Mozart Fellow 2024 is Dr Simon Eastwood

Simon Eastwood imageDr Simon Eastwood

Dr Simon Eastwood is a composer, bass player and music educator.

“I am extremely excited to accept this appointment and to be able to dedicate an entire year to composing full-time,” he says.

Interdisciplinary collaboration is a core feature of Dr Eastwood’s practice, and will be part of his Fellowship.

“I intend to spend much of the year writing chamber music including pieces for piano trio, saxophone, and works for percussion as well as collaborations between music and the visual arts.

“I also want to leave time to find new connections, explore, and forge new collaborations as a composer and improviser.”

Dr Eastwood is a passionate teacher to musicians both young and old. He also serves as an advocate for new music: he is the current President of the Composers Association of New Zealand.

Dr Eastwood has achieved international success working with world-class musicians and attending residencies and festivals around the globe.

These successes include representing New Zealand at the 2019 International Society for Contemporary Music New Music Days in Estonia where his piece Interference was performed by Kadri-Ann Sumera and Talvi Hunt. His work Where the River Flows... was performed by Corvus in New York's Federal Hall following the 2019 Composing in the Wilderness programme in Alaska.

In 2020, a collaboration with visual artist Lisa Munnelly Resurfacing was exhibited Detroit and Wrocław. In 2021, GRAMMY-nominated percussionist Justin DeHart included his set Silver Wind, Golden Earth, White Water on Landfall, a collection of New Zealand percussion music released by Rattle Records.

Closer to home, Dr Eastwood has had works programmed by the NZSO , Stroma, and the Adam Chamber Music Festival, and established strong connections with local artists, including improvisers and taonga pūoro musicians.

“Although much of my formal training has been in classical music, my musical interests are very diverse. I frequently perform in rock and folk groups, chamber ensembles, and orchestras in addition to performing as an improvising musician.”

Back to top