Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Ngā rā matua o te tau

Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2023

June

Friday, 3 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 6 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 8 June
Semester 1 examinations begin
Wednesday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only semester 2 papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2022
Wednesday, 22 June
Semester 1 examinations end
Friday, 24 June
Matariki
Saturday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only semester 2 papers

^ Top of Page

July

Friday, 1 July
Applications open for most entrance scholarships for 2023
Monday, 4 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until Friday 8 July)
Monday, 4 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in semester 2
Sunday, 10 July
Fees due for semester 2 only enrolments
Monday, 11 July
Semester 2 begins
Monday, 11 July
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only semester 2 papers (late fee may apply)
Friday, 15 July
Last day to add semester 2 papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 29 July
Last day to delete semester 2 papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Monday, 1 August
Applications for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation open
Monday, 1 August
Applications for Health Sciences professional programmes open
Monday, 15 August
Applications close for most entrance scholarships for 2023
Saturday, 20 August
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 27 August
Mid-semester break begins
Wednesday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Bachelor of Teaching programme in 2023

^ Top of Page

September

Thursday, 1 September
Audition applications due for Performance papers in Music and for Bachelor of Performing Arts programmes in 2023
Monday, 5 September
Semester 2 resumes
Thursday, 15 September
Applications due for first-year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy
Friday, 16 September
Last day to withdraw from semester 2 and full-year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 30 September
Applications due for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation

^ Top of Page

October

Saturday, 1 October
Applications due for second-year classes in Law in 2023
Friday, 14 October
Lectures end before semester 2 examinations
Wednesday, 19 October
Semester 2 examinations begin
Monday, 24 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Tuesday, 1 November
Applications due for the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2023
Saturday, 12 November
Semester 2 examinations end
Tuesday, 15 November
Applications due for second-year classes in Surveying in 2023

^ Top of Page

December

Saturday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2023
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or semester 1 subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2023 (subject to change)
Saturday, 10 December
Graduation ceremonies
Wednesday, 14 December
Graduation ceremonies
Thursday, 15 December
Due date for submission of 2023 Summer School papers for course approval (subject to change)
Saturday, 17 December
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

January 2023

Wednesday, 4 January
University reopens
Monday, 9 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)
Monday, 9 January
Summer School classes begin
Saturday, 14 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking semester 1 or full year papers

1 Applications from first-year and transferring PhD and Masters’ (thesis) students may be accepted throughout the year.
2 Teaching periods, examination periods and holiday dates for Teacher Education, Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, and some postgraduate courses may differ from the above. Please contact the appropriate School or Department for more information.