Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Ngā rā matua o te tau

Past 12 months

Key dates archive

Upcoming key dates

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2024

January

Wednesday, 4 January
University reopens
Monday, 9 January
Summer School classes begin
Monday, 9 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)
Saturday, 14 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking semester 1 or full year papers
Sunday, 15 January
Last day to delete Summer School papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

February

Monday, 6 February
Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Monday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Friday, 10 February
Fees due for study beginning in semester 1
Friday, 17 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 18 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 20 February
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in semester 1
Monday, 20 February
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 24 February)
Monday, 20 February
Orientation Week commences
Thursday, 23 February
Summer School examinations end
Friday, 24 February
Preliminary lectures for semester 1 and full-year papers
Friday, 24 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking semester 1 and full-year papers (a late fee may apply)
Friday, 24 February
Orientation Week ends
Monday, 27 February
Formal lectures begin

^ Top of Page

March

Friday, 3 March
Last day to add semester 1 or full-year papers (11:59pm deadline)
Friday, 17 March
Last day to delete semester 1 papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)
Friday, 24 March
Last day to delete full-year papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)
Friday, 31 March
Applications for semester 2 residential college accommodation open

^ Top of Page

April

Friday, 7 April
Good Friday – Mid-semester break begins
Monday, 10 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 11 April
Otago Anniversary Day observed (Dunedin)
Monday, 17 April
Semester 1 resumes
Tuesday, 25 April
ANZAC Day

^ Top of Page

May

Friday, 5 May
Last day to withdraw from semester 1 papers (5pm deadline)
Saturday, 13 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 20 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June

Friday, 2 June
Lectures cease before semester 1 examinations
Monday, 5 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 7 June
Semester 1 examinations begin
Thursday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only semester 2 papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2023
Wednesday, 21 June
Semester 1 examinations end
Sunday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only semester 2 papers

^ Top of Page

July

Saturday, 1 July
Applications open for most entrance scholarships for 2024
Monday, 3 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in semester 2
Monday, 3 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until Friday 8 July)
Sunday, 9 July
Fees due for semester 2 only enrolments
Monday, 10 July
Semester 2 begins
Monday, 10 July
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only semester 2 papers (late fee may apply)
Friday, 14 July
Matariki
Friday, 14 July
Last day to add semester 2 papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 28 July
Last day to delete semester 2 papers with refund of fees (11:59pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Tuesday, 1 August
Applications for Health Sciences professional programmes open
Tuesday, 1 August
Applications for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation open
Tuesday, 15 August
Applications close for most entrance scholarships for 2024
Saturday, 19 August
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 26 August
Mid-semester break begins
Thursday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Bachelor of Teaching programme in 2024

^ Top of Page

September

Friday, 1 September
Audition applications due for Performance papers in Music and for Bachelor of Performing Arts programmes in 2024
Monday, 4 September
Semester 2 resumes
Friday, 15 September
Last day to withdraw from semester 2 and full-year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 15 September
Applications due for first-year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2024
Saturday, 30 September
Applications due for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation

^ Top of Page

October

Sunday, 1 October
Applications due for second-year classes in Law in 2024
Friday, 13 October
Lectures end before semester 2 examinations
Wednesday, 18 October
Semester 2 examinations begin
Monday, 23 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Wednesday, 1 November
Applications due for the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2024
Saturday, 11 November
Semester 2 examinations end
Wednesday, 15 November
Applications due for second-year classes in Surveying in 2024

^ Top of Page

December

Saturday, 9 December
Graduation ceremonies
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or semester 1 subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2024 (subject to change)
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2024
Wednesday, 13 December
Graduation ceremonies
Friday, 15 December
Due date for submission of 2024 Summer School papers for course approval (subject to change)
Saturday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

January 2024

Wednesday, 3 January
University reopens
Monday, 8 January
Summer School classes begin
Monday, 8 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)
Saturday, 13 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking semester 1 or full year papers

1 Applications from first-year and transferring PhD and Masters’ (thesis) students may be accepted throughout the year.
2 Teaching periods, examination periods and holiday dates for Teacher Education, Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, and some postgraduate courses may differ from the above. Please contact the appropriate School or Department for more information.