Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Clocktower at sunsetTuesday 3 March 2015 12:22pm

Teaching excellence winners image
(from left) Jacinta Ruru, Roslyn Kemp, Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne, Christine Jasoni and Rachel Zajac at the awards ceremony in the Clocktower on Monday. Photo: Sharron Bennett.

Four outstanding University of Otago lecturers have been honoured by their colleagues and students in this year's University of Otago Teaching Excellence Awards.

The 2015 recipients were today named as Dr Roslyn Kemp, a senior lecturer in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology; Dr Rachel Zajac, a Senior Lecturer in Psychology; Associate Professor Christine Jasoni, Department of Anatomy, and Associate Professor Jacinta Ruru, Faculty of Law, also receives the kaupapa Māori award.

University of Otago Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne warmly congratulates this year's distinguished Otago teachers, all of whom have been strongly commended by their supervisors and Heads of Department.

“As these awards once again prove, Otago is the home of outstanding teachers who are driven by their commitment to excellence in teaching.

“To win this award, each has demonstrated that they are an inspiration to both their fellow colleagues, and their students. The standard they consistently set themselves is always very high indeed and I wholeheartedly endorse their selection.”

Dr Zajac has been recognised for her accessibility, enthusiasm, and humour as a teacher, while helping students—from undergraduates to high court judges—to bridge the gap between psychological science and its application; Dr Kemp for innovative and creative teaching of immunology, and providing a safe and supportive environment for learning and communicating science; Associate Professor Jasoni for her outstanding ability to relate to her audience, and a combination of enthusiasm, empathy and innovation to engage them; and Associate Professor Ruru, for challenging the teaching of law to create culturally safe and stimulating indigenous learning opportunities for law scholars, particularly Māori students.

All four received their awards at a special ceremony held in the Clocktower on Monday.

The University offers three Teaching Excellence Awards in the general category, and one kaupapa Māori award. The award for each recipient comprises a certificate and $7500 to support their learning and teaching.

A list of Otago experts available for media comment is available elsewhere on this website.

Electronic addresses (including email accounts, instant messaging services, or telephone accounts) published on this page are for the sole purpose of contact with the individuals concerned, in their capacity as officers, employees or students of the University of Otago, or their respective organisation. Publication of any such electronic address is not to be taken as consent to receive unsolicited commercial electronic messages by the address holder.
Back to top