Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Clocktower at sunsetTuesday 8 January 2019 12:01pm

The University of Otago is celebrating the significant presence of Otago alumni and staff on the Queen's 2019 New Year Honours List.

Twenty-four Otago alumni are included on the 2019 list, including two Dame Companions (DNZM), one Knight Companion (KNZM), two Companions (CNZM), ten Officers (ONZM) and six Members (MNZM) of the New Zealand Order of Merit. Four Otago Alumni were awarded the Queen's Service Medal (QSM).

Current staff member Professor Pat Langhorne received the New Zealand Antarctic Medal (NZAM).

Vice-Chancellor, Professor Harlene Hayne says the strong contingent being honoured (up from 20 on the 2018 New Year list) provides great inspiration for everyone connected to the University.

“Congratulations to everyone for the appointments you've received. You are each responsible for significant contributions to society as a whole so it is immensely pleasing to see your hard work and achievements being honoured,” Professor Hayne says.

Also receiving significant acknowledgment over the holiday period was Professor Stephen Robertson of the Dunedin School of Medicine, who was made a top-ten finalist in the New Zealand Herald's New Zealander of the Year award for his contributions towards identifying rare genetic disorders.

A list of the Otago alumni receiving New Year Honours is below. Please note: Alumni may have been overlooked where the University has not been notified of a change of surname. View the full honours list.

Ms Diana Crossan DNZM for services to the state
Dr Ian Hassall KNZM for services to the welfare of children
Mr Rob McLeod KNZM for services to business and Maori
Professor Margaret Bedggood QSO CNZM for services to human rights law
Professor Peter Crampton CNZM for services to education and health sciences
Mr Malcolm Black ONZM for services to the music industry
Dr David Crum ONZM for services to dentistry
Dr Dianne Elliott (Dianne Sharp) ONZM for services to Ophthalmology
Dr Ian Hall ONZM for services to mycology and agri-business
Ms Diane Lucas ONZM for services to conservation
Ms Kristy McDonald QC ONZM for services to law and government
Dr Jenny McMahon MBE ONZM for services to the Red Cross
Professor Andre Van Rij ONZM for services to health, particularly vascular surgery
Professor Peter Lineham ONZM for services to religious history and the community
Ms Terry MacTavish MNZM for services to theatre and education
Dr Arbutus Mitikulena MNZM for services to health and the Pacific community
Miss Raewyn Peart ONZM for services to environmental and conservation policy
Mrs Anne Rodger MNZM for services to women
Mrs Georgina Salter MNZM for services to netball (posthumous award)
Dr James Stewart MNZM for services to children with genetic immunity disorders
Ms Barbara Brinsley QSM for services to art curation
Mr Andrew Buglass QSM for services to outdoor recreation and conservation
Reverend Tauinaola Tofilau QSM for services to the Pacific community
Professor Pat Langhorne (staff) NZAM for services to science
Dr Allan Young QSM for services to ethnic communities and dentistry

FIND an Otago Expert

Use our Media Expertise Database to find an Otago researcher for media comment.

Back to top