Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Lizzie Stevenson image

Lizzie Stevenson (right) with Professor Suzanne Pitama, will be on different placements as a junior doctor over the next two years in Nelson Hospital.

For the first time, the Division of Health Sciences Premier Undergraduate Prize has been awarded to two students, Lizzie Stevenson and Amy Krammer.

The award acknowledges their outstanding academic, cultural and extra-curricular accomplishments during their undergraduate degrees which they completed in 2023.  

Lizzie has been at the University of Otago for six years, graduating with distinction from the Otago Medical School at the end of last year.  

During her degree she contributed to the medical and wider community through advocacy leadership roles within the Otago Medical School, worked with students and staff to optimise the medical curriculum especially during COVID, and completed and presented research focusing on Medical Education, whilst continuing to maintain a high level of academic excellence.  

She was awarded several service accolades over the years, culminating in the Otago Medical School Deans’ Prize at her graduation in December 2023.

“The joy of being able to serve, connect and work with others to advocate for common causes and create meaningful positive outcomes is my reward, but to receive this award is an unexpected gift for which I am incredibly grateful.  

“My time at University of Otago has been truly fulfilling and enlightening, not only through what I have studied at medical school, but through the inspiring staff, students and patients that I have been fortunate to work with and learn from,” Lizzie says.

Professor Suzanne Pitama, Dean and Head of the University of Otago’s Christchurch campus says, “Lizzie is just one amazing human and I look forward with pride to see what she accomplishes as a junior doctor.  

I have no doubt that her career will achieve great things including advocating for equity, best practice and humanity in medicine.”

Amy Krammer image

Amy Krammer, representing the IPSF at the 2023 FIP (International Pharmaceutical federation) World Congress in Brisbane.

Based in the School of Pharmacy, Amy began her studies in 2020 and has not only had consistently high grades, from the Health Sciences First Year programme through to her graduation with distinction, but has also earned several other accolades.  

These include University Council Commendations, the Otago Vice-Chancellor's Scholarship, the Andi Shirtcliffe Award for Student Leadership and University Contribution, and an Otago Blues and Gold Award.

Amy says receiving the prize was genuinely humbling and she is sincerely grateful for the prestigious honour.

“Advocating for the pharmacy profession, as well as representing my Japanese heritage, has long been a passion of mine and I am excited to carry this commitment into my role as a clinical pharmacist during my internship at Nelson Hospital this year.”

She also represented the pharmacy student body internationally at the International Pharmaceutical Students Federation (IPSF) during all three years of her studies and was one of 20 health professional students to attend the Te Whatu Ora Future Leaders Programme.

Professor Carlo Marra, Dean of the School of Pharmacy, says Amy is more than deserving of the prize.

“Amy is an extraordinary individual, with the motivation to excel wherever she is, and I am confident we will see her career move from strength to strength as a future leader in pharmacy.”  

Division of Health Sciences acting Pro-Vice-Chancellor Professor Trish Priest extends her whole-hearted congratulations to Lizzie and Amy on being the first dual winners of this award.

“As you embark on your future endeavours, we look forward to the continued impact you will undoubtedly have in the fields of medicine and pharmacy, and in your communities,” Professor Priest says.  

Kōrero by the Division of Health Sciences Communications Adviser, Kelsey Schutte.

Back to top