Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Pacific Academic Staff Caucus (PASC)

Logo designed by Ms Malia Lameta

The purpose of PASC is to support Pacific academic staff at the University of Otago.

PASC Fono with VC Image
Pacific Academic Staff Caucus (PASC) representatives Fono with the Vice Chancellor (12 September 2019). From left to right: Dr Jesse Kokaua, Dr Rose Richards, PASC Chair – Dr Ramona Tiatia, Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne, Professor Rex Adhar, Dr Christiane Leurquin and Dr Patrick Vakaoti.

Caucus formalised for Pacific academic staff

The Otago Pacific Academic Staff Caucus (PASC), formally launched on 11 July 2016.  PASC plans to support teaching and research excellence, while staying in tune with Pacific peoples’ worldviews and aspirations.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Harlene Hayne says she is delighted the Caucus has been formalised: “It is a fantastic addition to our University and provides important support for our Pacific communities both on and off campus.”

Read the full story


Group photo of staff and students at the Pacific Academic Staff Caucus Launch held on 11 July 2016.

Rex and Faumuina_11072016

Professor Rex Tauati Ahdar (Chair, PASC) welcomes the group and Faumuina Associate Professor Faafetai Sopoaga (PASC Member) offers a vote of thanks to the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Harlene Hayne.


Caucus members ... Front row (from left) Dr Daryl Schwenke, Chairman Professor Rex Tauati Ahdar and Faumuina Associate Professor Fa’afetai Sopoaga. Back row (from left) Dr Michelle Schaaf, Dr Ramona Tiatia, Nanai Anae Dr Iati Iati, Dr Alumita Durutalo and Dr Latika Samalia.