Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Das Laboratory news celebrates academic and research success of students, visitors and postgraduates.

For listings of Das Lab alumni visit:
Das Laboratory alumni

COVID-19 Masterclass presentation 22 June–3 July 2020

Monday 20 July 2020

Shyamal Das thumbRecordings of the COVID-19 Masterclass webinars recently delivered by a range of Otago and international experts to a global audience, included Dr Shyamal Das' presentation:
The Otago hand sanitiser solution for COVID-19. (MP4 64MB)

Science Festival nano-edition to feature Otago staff

Thursday 2 July 2020

hand sanitiser thumbFestival Director Dan Hendra says it would not have been possible to create such a high-calibre programme without the support of University of Otago scientists – who have contributed significantly.

Featured events include Dr Shyamal Das and his students at the University of Otago's School of Pharmacy. They will be presenting their work on the World Health Organisation's recommended hand sanitiser they made to serve the local community, and more about the science behind it.

Hand Sanitiser- know it and use it
Sun 5 and Mon 6 July, various times, School of Pharmacy

Das Laboratory national and international media review

Monday 8 June 2020

Shyamal Das thumbVisit our Das Laboratory media review page for a review of recent national and international media attention including interviews and features particularly in relation to COVID-19.

Responding to the glbal pandemic – Otago's story

Friday 22 May 2020

Busy and empty walkway thumbAs the University re-opens under Alert Level 2, and life takes on a new normal following the COVID-19 lockdown, Communications Adviser (Projects) Sean Flaherty takes a closer look at Otago's ongoing response to the global pandemic.

A lifetime of natural disasters shapes Pharmacist's COVID-19 response

Monday 20 April 2020

Shyamal Das and students thumbAn attitude born from the floodwaters of Bangladesh is now helping save lives in New Zealand.

Lecturer and students volunteer time to make sanitiser

Wednesday 25 March 2020

Dr Shyamal Das and his team thumbAll the hand sanitiser needed by the University of Otago's Dunedin campus over the coming weeks has been produced in-house and in record time by a School of Pharmacy senior lecturer and his students.

Photo from left to right: Dr Shyamal Das, Rishi Shah, Prakash Khadka, Tushar Saha, Bishal Adhikari, Rakesh Bastola and Nicole Wood.

Otago International students equipped to effect change

Friday 3 August 2018

Michelle Li and Wei Ying Yong thumbSchool of Pharmacy international undergraduate students, from left in photo: Michelle (Pui Shih) Li (21) and Wei Ying Yong (23) received two of 12 $1,350.00 IPE Conference Student Sponsorships to attend this year's conference, sponsored by the Division of Health Sciences Centre of Interprofessional Education (IPE Centre) and the Otago Medical School.

Pharmacy lecturer's passion for teaching

Tuesday 7 February 2017

Shyamal Das outside OUSA building thumbA good curriculum is essential for educating our future pharmacists, and Dr Shyamal Das works hard to ensure that the curriculum is understood. His passion for teaching was established at a young age and is still very important to the Otago School of Pharmacy lecturer.

Symposium honours research students' years

Friday 13 October 2017

Pharmacy honours students group thumbHighlighting a year of research culminated with the Honours students' symposium presenting their work to the School community.

Green Cross Health Pharmacy Awards Ceremony

Friday 18 August 2017

Pharmacy Green Cross award winners group thumbOur inaugural Green Cross Health Pharmacy Awards ceremony was held at St David Lecture Theatre on Friday 11 August 2017. Over 140 people attended the ceremony to celebrate and recognise the achievements of our outstanding students, staff, and alumni as well as the pharmacists that train and mentor our undergraduate students on placements, our preceptors.

In the photo Dr Shyamal Das receives awards for Excellence in Teaching, Emerging Researcher Award 2016, Publications Silver Medal (50 international peer reviewed papers). From left: Mohammed Momin, Basanth Eedara, Dr Shyamal Das, Dr Shubhra Sinha, Prakash Khadka, Louise Fliedel.

Back to top