Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 15 November 2018 12:07pm

Landfall 236 thumbnailEdited by Emma Neale

Featured artists

John Z Robinson, Justin Spiers, Susan Te Kahurangi King

Awards and competitions

Results and winning essays from the Landfall Essay Competition 2018, with judge's report by Emma Neale, and results from the Caselberg Trust International Poetry Prize 2018, with judge's report by David Eggleton


Philip Armstrong, Jane Arthur, Tusiata Avia, Antonia Bale, Tony Beyer, Victor Billot, Madeleine Child, Thom Conroy, Jodie Dalgleish, Doc Drumheller, Breton Dukes, Ciaran Fox, David Gregory, Michael Hall, René Harrison, Siobhan Harvey, Trevor Hayes, Kerry Hines, Joy Holley, Elizabeth Kirkby-McLeod, Megan Kitching, Jessica Le Bas, Therese Lloyd, Jess MacKenzie, Frankie McMillan, Alice Miller, Michael Mintrom, Lissa Moore, James Norcliffe, Heidi North, Jilly O'Brien, Vincent O'Sullivan, Aiwa Pooamorn, John Prins, Lindsay Rabbitt, essa may ranapiri, Sudha Rao, Richard Reeve, Harry Ricketts, Alan Roddick, Derek Schulz, Di Starrenburg, Jillian Sullivan, John Summers, Jasmine Taylor, Angela Trolove, Iain Twiddy, Bryan Walpert, Susan Wardell, Rose Whitau, C.A.J. Williams, Briar Wood, Helen Yong


Landfall Review Online: books recently reviewed
Mark Broatch on This Mortal Boy by Fiona Kidman
Tom Brooking on Strangers Arrive by Leonard Bell
Janet Charman on Telling the Real Story by Erin Mercer
Gail Pittaway on Gabriel's Bay by Catherine Roberston
Gina Cole on Free Love by Sia Figiel
Michael Harlow on Athens to Aotearoa, eds. Diana Burton, Simon Perris and Jeff Tatum
Emma Gattey, Awhina Clarke-Tahana and Jacinta Ruru on Juridical Encounters by Shaunnagh Dorsett


EMMA NEALE, who lives in Dunedin, has published six novels and five poetry collections, and edited several anthologies.

She is a former Robert Burns fellow (2012) and has received numerous awards and grants for her writing including the Janet Frame/NZSA Memorial Prize for Literature (2008), the University of Otago/Sir James Wallace Pah Residency (2014), and she was Philip and Diane Beatson/NZSA Writing Fellow in 2015.

Neale was awarded the Kathleen Grattan Award for 2011 for her poetry collection The Truth Garden, and was longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and finalist for the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2017 for her novel Billy Bird. She has extensive experience as a literary editor and reviewer, and holds a PhD in New Zealand Literature from University College London (UK).

Publication details

Paperback, 215 x 165 mm, 208 pages, 16 in colour, ISBN 978-1-98-853155-7, $30
Published with the assistance of Creative New Zealand
November 2018

Buy now

Buy eBook

Back to top