Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 14 November 2019 12:16pm


Edited by Emma Neale

Featured artists

Nigel Brown, Holly Craig, Emil McAvoy

Awards and competitions

Results from the Kathleen Grattan Award for Poetry 2019, with judge's report by Jenny Bornholdt; results and winning essays from the Landfall Essay Competition 2019, with judge's report by Emma Neale; results from the Caselberg Trust International Poetry Prize 2019, with judge's report by Dinah Hawken.


John Allison, Ruth Arnison, Emma Barnes, Pera Barrett, Nikki-Lee Birdsey, Anna Kate Blair, Corrina Bland, Cindy Botha, Liz Breslin, Mark Broatch, Tobias Buck, Paolo Caccioppoli, Marisa Cappetta, Janet Charman, Whitney Cox, Mary Cresswell, Jeni Curtis, Jodie Dalgleish, Breton Dukes, David Eggleton, Johanna Emeney, Cerys Fletcher, David Geary, Miriama Gemmell, Susanna Gendall, Gail Ingram, Sam Keenan, K.Day, Peter Le Baige, Helen Lehndorf, Kay McKenzie Cooke, Kirstie McKinnon, Zoë Meager, Lissa Moore, Margaret Moores, Janet Newman, Rachel O'Neill, Claire Orchard, Bob Orr, Jenny Powell, Nina Mingya Powles, Lindsay Rabbitt, Nicholas Reid, Jade Riordan, Gillian Roach, Paul Schimmel, Derek Schulz, Michael Steven, Chris Stewart, Robert Sullivan, Stacey Teague, Annie Villiers, Janet Wainscott, Louise Wallace, Albert Wendt, Iona Winter


Landfall Review Online: books recently reviewed
Shef Rogers on The Travels of Hildebrand Bowman, ed. Lance Bertelsen
Steve Braunias on Ghost South Road by Scott Hamilton
Elizabeth Smither on James K. Baxter: Letters of a poet, ed. John Weir
Michael Steven on The Moon in a Bowl of Water by Michael Harlow, Keeping a Grip by Kevin Ireland, and One Hundred Poems and a Year by Bob Orr
Mark Broatch on Pearly Gates by Owen Marshall
Jocelyn Harris on The Political Years by Marilyn Waring
David Eggleton on Frances Hodgkins, eds Catherine Hammond and Mary Kisler
Anahera Gildea on Pūrākau, eds Witi Ihimaera and Witi Hereaka


EMMA NEALE, who lives in Dunedin, has published six novels and five poetry collections, and edited several anthologies.

She is a former Robert Burns fellow (2012) and has received numerous awards and grants for her writing including the Janet Frame/NZSA Memorial Prize for Literature (2008), the University of Otago/Sir James Wallace Pah Residency (2014), and she was Philip and Diane Beatson/NZSA Writing Fellow in 2015.

Neale was awarded the Kathleen Grattan Award for 2011 for her poetry collection The Truth Garden, and was longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and finalist for the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2017 for her novel Billy Bird. She has extensive experience as a literary editor and reviewer, and holds a PhD in New Zealand Literature from University College London (UK).

Publication details

Paperback, 215 x 165 mm, 208 pp.
ISBN 978-1-98-853180-9, $30

Published with the assistance of Creative New Zealand

Buy now

Buy eBook

Back to top