Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Thursday 14 November 2019 12:18pm

Edited by Emma Neale

LF 239 webFeatured artists

Vita Cochran, Star Gossage, Robert West

Awards & competitions

Results from the 2020 Charles Brasch Young Writers' Essay Competition


John Adams, Johanna Aitchison, John Allison, Shaun Bamber, Tony Beyer, Iain Britton, Medb Charleton, Ruth Corkill, Doc Drumheller, Mark Edgecombe, Lynley Edmeades, David Eggleton, Johanna Emeney, Rhys Feeney, Michael Giacon, Carolyn Gillum, Patricia Grace, Eliana Gray & Jordan Hamel, Isabel Haarhaus, Bernadette Hall, Sarah Harpur, Jenna Heller, Stephanie Johnson, Erik Kennedy, Brent Kininmont, Megan Kitching, Claire Lacey, Leonard Lambert, Wes Lee, Malinna Liang, Emer Lyons, Carolyn McCurdie, Cilla McQueen, Owen Marshall, Talia Marshall, Zoë Meager, James Norcliffe, Keith Nunes, Kōtuku Tithuia Nuttall, Vincent O'Sullivan, Leanne Radojkovich, essa may ranapiri, Gillian Roach, Pip Robertson, Jo-Ella Sarich, Tim Saunders, Sarah Scott, Sarah Shirley, Elizabeth Smither, Charlotte Steel, Nicola Thorstensen, Rushi Vyas, Susan Wardell


Landfall Review Online: books recently reviewed
SARAH HARPUR on Funny As: The Story of New Zealand Comedy by Paul Horan and Phillip Matthews
PETER SIMPSON on Peat by Lynn Jenner
EMMA GATTEY on Life on Volcanoes: Contemporary Essays, ed. Janet McAllister
JOHN GERAETS on Verses by Lola Ridge; Two or more islands by Diana Bridge; and The Dangerous Country of Love and Marriage by Amy Leigh Wicks
MAIRÉAD DE RÓISTE on Singing the Trail: The story of mapping Aotearoa New Zealand by John McCrystal
DAVID EGGLETON on The New Photography: New Zealand's first-generation contemporary photographers by Athol McCredie


EMMA NEALE, who lives in Dunedin, has published six novels and five poetry collections, and edited several anthologies. She is a former Robert Burns fellow (2012) and has received numerous awards and grants for her writing including the Janet Frame/NZSA Memorial Prize for Literature (2008), the University of Otago/Sir James Wallace Pah Residency (2014), and she was Philip and Diane Beatson/NZSA Writing Fellow in 2015. Neale was awarded the Kathleen Grattan Award for 2011 for her poetry collection The Truth Garden, and was longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and finalist for the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2017 for her novel Billy Bird. She has extensive experience as a literary editor and reviewer, and holds a PhD in New Zealand Literature from University College London (UK).

Reviews of Landfall 239


Academy of New Zealand Literature (ANZL)

Publication details

Paperback, 215 x 165 mm, 208 pp, 16 in colour, $30
ISBN 978-1-98-859243-5

Published with the assistance of Creative New Zealand

Buy now

Buy eBook

Back to top