Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon
Friday 1 November 2013 10:51am

Ruth Dallas

the_black_horseThe book

Twelve short stories by one of New Zealand's best-loved poets. Set in the south, they are spare pieces of prose, showing an eye for detail and for the ironies of life.

The titles themselves evoke a whole world: Stewart's Farm, Walter's Mother, The Letter, Lily of a Day, A Long Wait, The Macrocarpa Hedge, A Step on the Path, The Black Horse, The Other Room, The New Teacher.

Five of these stories have been published in Landfall, the rest are new.

The author

RUTH DALLAS (1919–2008) was born in Invercargill, and first published her poems in the Southland Times in 1946. She is the author of several books of poetry and also of novels for children. She received a number of literary awards, including the New Zealand Book Award for Poetry in 1977 for her fifth collection, Walking on the Snow. Her Collected Poems was published in 1987. She held the Burns Fellowship at the University of Otago and was made an honorary Doctor of Literature of the same university.

Publication details

Paperback, 210 x 140 mm, 112 pages, ISBN 978 1 877133 85 5, $24.95

Buy now

Back to top