Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Research and Enterprise people

Ō mātou tāngata

Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research Division

The Research Division ensures that the scholarship and research of the University is of international standing and that our endeavours are informed by commitment to Te Tiriti o Waitangi. The Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor leads the strategic imperative for research excellence at the University of Otago. The Office ensures research and research activity are supported, and that the highest possible standards are adhered to.

^ Top of page

Research and Enterprise Office management team

Level 1, East Wing, Centre For Innovation Building, 87 St David Street, Dunedin Campus

Research and Enterprise Office, Research Division, fosters research excellence, and supports researchers to be successful. We assist researchers with pursuing funding opportunities, partnering with next users of research (including national and local government, non-government organisations and business), completing grant applications, and the establishment of research contracts.

Martin Gagnon thumb

Director, Research and Enterprise

Dr Martin Gagnon

Tel +64 3 479 8983
Email martin.gagnon@otago.ac.nz

Rachel Elliot thumb

Senior Research Advisory Manager

Dr Rachel Elliot

Tel +64 3 479 5895
Mob +64 21 279 5895
Email rachel.elliot@otago.ac.nz

Samuel Heenan thumb

Senior Research Advisory Manager

Dr Samuel Heenan

Tel +64 3 479 7628
Mob +64 21 279 0535
Email samuel.heenan@otago.ac.nz

Executive Assistant

Lynette Mitchell

Tel +64 3 479 8905
Email lynette.mitchell@otago.ac.nz

Finance Manager

Keri Te Tamaki

Tel +64 3 471 4271
Email keri.tetamaki@otago.ac.nz

Kaiwhakatere Rakahau Māori – Māori Research Partnerships Manager

Ben Te Aika

Mob +64 21 279 0907
Email ben.teaika@otago.ac.nz

Research Information Manager

Dr John Milnes

Tel +64 3 479 4517
Email john.milnes@otago.ac.nz

Team Leader: Research – Administration

Ms Rhonda McSkimming

Tel +64 3 479 5671
Mob +64 21 278 5671
Email rhonda.mcskimming@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Business Development Managers

Level 2, East Wing, Centre For Innovation Building, 87 St David Street, Dunedin Campus

Business Development Managers (BDMs) help build partnerships with industry and other end-users who could benefit from, and contribute to, the development of your research. All BDMs, except our Auckland colleague, are located in the Centre for Innovation, Dunedin Campus.

Agriculture, Antartic science, food and beverage

Muriel Dufour thumbDr Muriel Dufour

Mob +64 21 279 8325
Email muriel.dufour@otago.ac.nz

Biotechnology, food, and health – Auckland region

Mr David Powell

Level 4, University of Otago House, 385 Queen St, PO Box 5543, Auckland.
Mob +64 21 983 499
Email d.powell@otago.ac.nz

Biotechnology and public health

Carthika Luxmanan thumbDr Carthika Luxmanan

Mob +64 21 185 1120
Email carthika.luxmanan@otago.ac.nz

Clinical research, genetics, and agriculture

Dr Annie O'Connell

Mob +64 21 279 0623
Email anne.oconnell@otago.ac.nz

Culture, society, and economy

Paul Foster-Bell thumbnailPaul Foster-Bell

Mob +64 21 279 1664
Email paul.foster-bell@otago.ac.nz

Energy, manufacturing, data and technology ecosystems

Dr Amarni Thomas

Mob +64 21 279 0890
Email amarni.thomas@otago.ac.nz

Environment and energy

Rita Pryzbilski thumbDr Rita Przybilski

Mob +64 21 222 7346
Email rita.przybilski@otago.ac.nz

Health and wellbeing, and international development

Tomas Ribeiro thumbTomás Ribeiro

Mob +64 221 530 376
Email tomas.ribeiro@otago.ac.nz

Research consortia

Dr Mel Black

Mob +64 21 279 4590
Email melony.black@otago.ac.nz

Dr Mary Gower (on leave returning 2023)

^ Top of page

Research Advisers – Business, Humanities, and Sciences

Research Advisers support researchers with funding applications (contestable funding) including developing the proposals and collaborative applications. They also assist with negotiation and management of contracts once funding has been secured. They welcome your contact as soon as you join the University.

Business School

Chelvica Ariyanayagam thumbChelvica Ariyanayagam

Room 2.05, Business School, 60 Clyde Street, Dunedin
Tel +64 3 479 5934
Mob +64 27 279 5934
Email chelvica.ariyanayagam@otago.ac.nz

Division of Humanities

Natalie Harfoot thumbDr Natalie Harfoot

  • College of Education
  • Higher Education Development Centre
  • School of Geography
  • School of Social Sciences

Room 5S12, Arts (Burns) Building , 95 Albany Street
Tel +64 3 479 4173
Mob +64 21 279 4173
Email natalie.harfoot@otago.ac.nz

Michelle Walker

  • Faculity of Law
  • School of Arts
  • School of Performing Arts
  • Te Tumu

Room 5S12, Arts (Burns) Building , 95 Albany Street
Hours of work: (0.5 FTE)
Monday: 9:15am–3:30pm
Tuesday: 9:15am–3:30pm
Friday: 9:15am–3:30pm

Mob +64 21 279 1196
Email michelle.walker@otago.ac.nz

Division of Sciences

Kate Berard thumbKate Berard

  • Departments of Computer Science, Food Science, Human Nutrition, Mathematics and Statistics, Physics, and Psychology
  • School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences

Room G30, Ground floor, Union Court, 85 Union St, Dunedin
Tel +64 3 244 8480
Email kate.berard@otago.ac.nz

Melanie Remy

  • Departments of Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Marine Science, Science Communication and Zoology
  • School of Surveying

Room G31, Ground floor, Union Court, 85 Union Place West, Dunedin
Tel +64 3 479 7717
Email melanie.remy@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Advisers – Health Sciences

Health Sciences Research Advisers support researchers with funding applications (contestable funding) including developing proposals and collaborative applications. They also assist with subsequent negotiation and management of contracts. They welcome your contact as soon as you join the University.

Anatomy and Physiology

Eric Lord thumbDr Eric Lord

Room G04, Wellcome Building (corner of Frederick and Great King Streets)
Tel +64 3 479 4592
Mob +64 21 279 4592
Email eric.lord@otago.ac.nz

Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology

Jacqueline NielsenDr Jacqueline Nielsen

Room 802, Microbiology Building, 720 Cumberland Street, and Room 230a, Biochemistry Building, 710 Cumberland Street
Tel +64 3 279 4591
Mob +64 21 323 394
Email bioc-micro.research@otago.ac.nz

Dr Kerry Galvin

Room 802, Microbiology Building 720 Cumberland Street
Mob +64 21 279 1720
Email bioc-micro.research@otago.ac.nz

Bioethics Centre, Kōhatu Centre for Hauora Māori, Centre for Pacific Health, Pharmacovigilance Centre

Chelvica Ariyanayagam thumbChelvica Ariyanayagam

Dean's Office, Ground floor, Business School, 60 Clyde Street, Dunedin
Tel +64 3 479 5934
Mob +64 21 279 5934
Email chelvica.ariyanayagam@otago.ac.nz

Centre for International Health

Natalie Harfoot thumbDr Natalie Harfoot

Room 5S12, Arts (Burns) Building , 95 Albany Street
Tel +64 3 479 4173
Mob +64 21 279 4173
Email natalie.harfoot@otago.ac.nz

Faculty of Dentistry, School of Pharmacy, School of Physiotherapy, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Diana Rothstein thumbMs Diana Rothstein

Room G04, Wellcome Building (corner of Frederick and Great King Streets).
Tel +64 3 479 4043
Mob +64 21 0243 7971
Email diana.rothstein@otago.ac.nz

General Practice and Rural Health, Preventive and Social Medicine, Psychological Medicine, Women's and Children's Health

Ali Cameron thumbAli Cameron

Health Research South, Otago Medical School, 1st Floor, Dunedin Public Hospital
Tel +64 3 470 9030
Email ali.cameron@otago.ac.nz

Medicine, Pathology, Surgical Sciences

Edwin Meijerink thumbDr Edwin Meijerink

Room 225, Biochemistry, 710 Cumberland Street
Tel +64 3 479 4190
Mob +64 21 279 5085
Email edwin.meijerink@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Adviser – Māori

Fran provides a high level of assistance and advice to academic staff in designated areas within the University for the development of research funding applications and the management of research projects focused on Māori research.

Fran Munro

Mob +64 21 279 20290
Email fran.munro@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Advisers – University of Otago, Christchurch

Level 5, 2 Riccarton Ave, Christchurch
Tel +64 3 364 1133

MIHI/Dean’s Department, Anaesthesia

Suzanne Benjes Dr Suzanne Benjes

Mob +64 21 279 0302
Email suzanne.benjes@otago.ac.nz

Paediatrics, Surgery, Population Health, Psychological Medicine, General Practice

Dr Dot Brown

Mob +64 21 279 0284
Email dot.brown@otago.ac.nz

Pathology and Biomedical Science, Radiology, Orthopaedic Surgery and Musculoskeletal Medicine, Postgraduate Nursing

Dr Ian Cooke

Email ian.cooke@otago.ac.nz

Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Physiotherapy

Emily OughtonEmily Oughton

Mob +64 21 279 2253
Email emily.oughton@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Advisers – University of Otago, Wellington

Dr Nina Barton

Mob +64 21 279 1580
Email nina.barton@otago.ac.nz

Christine Groves

Mob +64 21 279 5541
Email christine.groves@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Research Advisory Specialists

Contracting support

Research Advisory Specialists provide contracting support for Business Development Managers and Research Advisers.

Elizabeth Hogbin

Tel +64 3 479 8395
Mob +64 21 279 0646
Email elizabeth.hogbin@otago.ac.nz

Val Berry

Tel +64 21 279 0646
Mob +64 21 279 0936
Email val.berry@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Legal Team

Ground Level, West Wing, Centre for Innovation, 87 St David Street, Dunedin

Legal adviser

Will Martin thumbMr Will Martin

  • Funding contracts
  • Intellectual property
  • Commercialisation opportunities

Tel +64 3 479 5374
Mob +64 21 279 5374
Email will.martin@otago.ac.nz

^ Top of page

Operations Team - administrative, financial and IT support

Ground Level, West Wing, Centre for Innovation, 87 St David Street, Dunedin

Research Information Manager

John Milnes thumbDr John Milnes

Tel +64 3 479 4517
Email mailto:john.milnes@otago.ac.nz

Information Systems Officer

Ms Lorraine Harris

Tel +64 3 479 8070
Email lorraine.harris@otago.ac.nz

Research Administration Team

Rhonda McSkimming – Team Leader

Tel +64 3 479 5671
Email rhonda.mcskimming@otago.ac.nz

Research Administrators

All Research Administrators have a central shared email address:
Email research@otago.ac.nz

  • Melanie Adams
  • Laura Childs
  • Tegan Ferrier
  • Sharon Helm
  • Jess King
  • Sarah-Jane Robertson
  • Fiona Seaton (Research Committee Administrator)
  • Nikki Shaw

Research Administrator, University of Otago, Christchurch,

Level 5, 2 Riccarton Avenue, Christchurch

Jen Dreaver
Tel +64 3 364 1133
Mob +64 21 279 2250
Email research@otago.ac.nz

Research Administrator, University of Otago, Wellington

Beck O'Shaughnessy
Tel +64 4 918 6251
Fax +64 4 389 5319
Email research@otago.ac.nz

Research Finance Associates Team

Research Finance Associates manage awarded funding by providing support for expenditure, invoicing, and reporting to funders.

Keri Te Tamaki – Finance Manager

Tel +64 3 479 4271
Email keri.tetamaki@otago.ac.nz

  • Managing the Research Finance Associate Team
  • Research Division including R&E, Research Divisional Office, Graduate Research School and University Press
  • Committees Division including Scholarships / Entrance Scholarships, Research Committee, Equipment Committee, Internationalisation Committee

Research Finance Associates

All email enquiries to:
Email research.finance@otago.ac.nz

Ms Apple Burr
Tel +64 3 479 4022

  • Bioethics
  • Biostatistics Centre
  • Computer Science
  • Dunedin School of Medicine (DSM)
  • External Engagement Divisional Office
  • Health Sciences Divisional Office
  • Health Sciences Pacific
  • Health Sciences Kōhatu Centre for Hauora Māori
  • Higher Education Development Centre (HEDC)
  • Otago Medical School
  • Pacific Development Office
  • Pharmacovigilance Centre
  • Poisons Centre
  • Psychology
  • Research Divisional Office
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School of Physiotherapy
  • Science Communication
  • Te Whare Tawharau

Ms Lisa Hart
Tel +64 3 479 8234

  • Anatomy
  • Chemistry
  • Geology
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Human Nutrition
  • Mathematics
  • Otago Business School
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
  • Physics
  • Physiology
  • Statistics
  • University of Otago, Christchurch
  • University of Otago, Wellington

Ms Jodie Ludwig
Tel +64 3 479 4056

  • Biochemistry
  • Division of Humanities
  • Division of Sciences
  • Genomics Aotearoa
  • University of Otago, Wellington: Deans Office, Medicine, Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women's Health, Pathology and Molecular Medicine, Primary Healthcare and General Practice.

^ Top of page