Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

MidCentral District Health Board

Student Discussion IPE MCDHB Consented Image 7 thumbnailMidCentral DHB offers an IPE programme with a focus on Cancer Care including dietetics, medicine, physiotherapy, radiotherapy students from University of Otago, nursing & social work students from Massey University and pharmacy interns from the Pharmaceutical Society.  It is run over a week with an initial workshop, small interprofessional groups interviewing patients receiving cancer treatment, and then each group forming and delivering a presenting to the class.  In 2019, the aim is to expand the Cancer Care IPE to include the topic of palliative care, by partnering with the MDHB palliative care team and Arohanui Hospice as well as more formally with Massey University as teaching partners.  This initiative will be evaluated by University of Otago Wellington.

The Mid Central DHB teaching team is led by: Kristen White (dietetics), and includes: Rebecca Higgs (physiotherapy), Nathalie de Vries & Colleen Van der Vyver (medicine), Melissa Higson (radiation therapy) , Claire Minton & Marla Burrow (Massey University nursing), Kathryn Hay (Massey University social work) and Simon Allan (Arohanui Hospice).

Hawkes Bay District Health Board

Hawkes Bay DHB offers an interprofessional social presence activity twice a year and the INTERact IPE programme bi-monthly, for dietetics, medicine, physiotherapy students. In 2019, they plan to join in nursing students from Eastern institute of Technology (EIT).  The social presence activity involves small interprofessional group activities for students new to the hospital campus.  The INTERact programme involves students in small interprofessional groups reviewing the clinical notes of patients with complex needs and then interviewing them about their care.  In their groups they then discuss and review the management plan and feedback their observations and reflections to the IPE staff and other students.

The Hawkes Bay DHB teaching team is Jacqui Plater (physiotherapy), Emma Merry (medicine) and Paula Bennett (dietetics)