Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Inaugural Professorial Lectures


The current series of Inaugural Professorial Lectures was established in 1996 with the broad aim of promoting and celebrating the academic reputation of professorial staff.

The series makes an important contribution to the University's role within the wider community by providing a public forum for leading research and enhancing Otago's statutory role as critic and conscience of society.

2017 Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Professor Lecture Details
Professor Tim Stokes
Elaine Gurr Chair of General Practice
Department of General Practice and Rural Health
Tuesday 7 March 2017, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Mark Stirling
Department of Geology
Tuesday 14 March 2017, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Nigel Perry
Department of Chemistry
Tuesday 9 May 2017, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Pat Langhorne
Department of Physics
Monday 15 May 2017, 5.30pm
Archway 2 Lecture Theatre
Professor Richard Blaikie
Department of Physics
Thursday 17 August 2017, 5.30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Professor Gerry Closs
Department of Zoology
Tuesday 28 November 2017, 5.30pm
Archway 3 Lecture Theatre
Professor Tony Merriman
Department of Biochemistry
School of Biomedical Sciences
Professor Neil Carr
Department of Tourism