Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The current series of Inaugural Professorial Lectures was established in 1996 with the broad aim of promoting and celebrating the academic reputation of professorial staff.

The series makes an important contribution to the University's role within the wider community by providing a public forum for leading research and enhancing Otago's statutory role as critic and conscience of society.

Visit the events calendar for detailed information about upcoming Inaugural Professorial Lectures, including livestream links.

2024 Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Professor Lecture details
Lynn McBain
Primary Health Care and General Practice
Monday, 26 February 2024, 5:30pm
Horne Theatre, Wellington Regional Hospital
Gisela Sole
School of Physiotherapy
Thursday, 7 March 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Tobias Langlotz
School of Computing
Tuesday, 12 March 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Wayne Stephenson
School of Geography
Thursday, 21 March 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Sally Shaw
School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences
Tuesday, 26 March 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Sara Walton
Department of Management
Tuesday, 16 April  2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Stuart Brock
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic)
Thursday, 18 April 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre 
Tania Cassidy
School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences
Tuesday, 30 April 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Joyce Koh
Higher Education Development Centre 
Postponed
TBC
Natalie Hughes
School of Pharmacy
Thursday, 30 May 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Tony Moore
School of Surveying
Thursday, 18 July 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Shyamal Das
School of Pharmacy
Tuesday, 23 July 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Angela Wanhalla
History Programme, School of Arts
Thursday, 25 July 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Andrew Gorman
Department of Geology
Tuesday, 30 July 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Miranda Mirosa
Department of Food Science
Thursday,1 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Caroline Bell
Department of Psychological Medicine
Monday, 5 August 2024, 5:30pm
Christchurch Campus
Ceridwen Fraser
Department of Marine Science
Thursday, 6 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Viv Anderson
College of Education
Tuesday, 13 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Sarah Wakes
Department of Mathematics and Statistics
Thursday, 15 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Peter Jones
Department of Physiology
Tuesday, 20 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Stephanie Woodley
Department of Anatomy
Tuesday, 27 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Racheal McLean
Department of Preventive and Social Medicine
Thursday, 29 August 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Susan Sandretto
College of Education
Tuesday, 3 September 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Peter Mace
Department of Biochemistry
Tuesday, 10 September 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Sinead Donnelly
Department of Medicine
Wednesday, 11 September 2024, 5:30pm
TBC
Moana Theodore
Department of Psychology
Thursday, 12 September 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Mark Lokman
Department of Zoology
Tuesday, 17 September 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Richard Greatbanks
Deans office, School of Business
Tuesday, 24 September 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Peter Whigham
School of Computing
Thursday, 26 September 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Tony Savarimuthu
School of Computing
Tuesday, 1 October 2024, 5:30pm
TBC
Sunyoung Ma
Department of Oral Rehabilitation
Tuesday, 8 October 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Chrystal Jaye
General Practice and Rural Health
Thursday, 10 October 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Jesse Bering
Department of Science Communication
Tuesday, 15 October 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Ivan Sammut
Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology
Tuesday, 19 November 2024, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Rose Richards
Centre for Pacific Health
TBC
Back to top