Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic Key Dates

Student looking away smiling

May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2017 Feb 2017 Apr 2017 May 2017 Jun 2017 Jul 2017 Aug 2017 Sep 2017 Oct 2017 Nov 2017 Dec 2017

May

Sunday, 1 May
Applications due for admission to Medicine via the ‘Alternative’ category for 2017
Friday, 6 May
Last day to withdraw from first semester papers (5pm deadline)
Monday, 9 May
Live streaming of 14 & 21 May 2016 Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 14 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 21 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June

Friday, 3 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 6 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 8 June
First semester examinations begin
Wednesday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only second semester papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2016
Wednesday, 22 June
First semester examinations end
Saturday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only second semester papers
Monday, 27 June
University of Otago International School classes begin
Tuesday, 28 June
Orientation for international students
Thursday, 30 June
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only second semester papers

^ Top of Page

July

Monday, 4 July
Latest arrival date for international students studying in second semester
Thursday, 7 July
Course Advice Day
Sunday, 10 July
Fees due for second semester only enrolments
Monday, 11 July
Second semester begins
Friday, 15 July
Last day to add second semester papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 29 July
Last day to delete second semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Saturday, 20 August
Graduation ceremony
Monday, 29 August
Mid-semester break begins
Wednesday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2017
Wednesday, 31 August
University of Otago International School classes end

^ Top of Page

September

Thursday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2017
Monday, 5 September
Second semester resumes
Thursday, 8 September
Degree Planning Days: 8 to 14 September
Thursday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2017
Friday, 16 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

October

Saturday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2017
Friday, 14 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 19 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 24 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Saturday, 12 November
Second semester examinations end
Tuesday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2017

^ Top of Page

December

Thursday, 1 December
Applications due for application to LLB(Hons) programme in 2017
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2017
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due for the first year of the Bachelor of Physical Education programme in 2017 (later applications will be considered if places are available)
Saturday, 10 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2017
Wednesday, 14 December
Graduation ceremonies
Thursday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 17 December
Graduation ceremonies
Wednesday, 21 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers

^ Top of Page

January 2017

Wednesday, 4 January
University reopens
Sunday, 8 January
Latest arrival date for new international students studying at Summer School
Monday, 9 January
Welcome for new international students
Monday, 9 January
Summer School classes begin
Friday, 13 January
Summer School fees due
Sunday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking first semester or full years papers
Monday, 16 January
Last day to add or delete Summer School papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

February 2017

Monday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Friday, 17 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 18 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 20 February
Academic Orientation Week
Monday, 20 February
Convocation Ceremony
Wednesday, 22 February
Course Advice Day
Thursday, 23 February
Summer School examinations end
Thursday, 23 February
Course Advice Day
Friday, 24 February
Preliminary lectures
Monday, 27 February
Formal lectures begin

^ Top of Page

April 2017

Friday, 14 April
Good Friday, mid-semester break begins
Monday, 17 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 18 April
Otago Anniversary Day observance (Dunedin)
Monday, 24 April
First semester resumes
Tuesday, 25 April
ANZAC Day

^ Top of Page

May 2017

Saturday, 13 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 20 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June 2017

Friday, 2 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 5 June
Queen's Birthday
Wednesday, 7 June
First semester examinations begin
Wednesday, 21 June
First semester examinations end

^ Top of Page

July 2017

Thursday, 6 July
Course Advice Day
Monday, 10 July
Second semester begins

^ Top of Page

August 2017

Saturday, 19 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 26 August
Mid-semester break begins

^ Top of Page

September 2017

Monday, 4 September
Second semester resumes

^ Top of Page

October 2017

Friday, 13 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 18 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 23 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November 2017

Saturday, 11 November
Second semester examinations end

^ Top of Page

December 2017

Saturday, 9 December
Graduation ceremonies
Wednesday, 13 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies