Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Student looking away smiling

Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2018 Feb 2018 Mar 2018 Apr 2018 May 2018 Jun 2018 Jul 2018 Aug 2018 Sep 2018 Oct 2018 Nov 2018 Dec 2018

August

Monday, 14 August
Live streaming of Saturday 19 August 2017 Graduation ceremony
Thursday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2018

^ Top of Page

September

Friday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2018
Monday, 4 September
Second semester resumes
Monday, 11 September
14th Annual Open Peace Lecture
Friday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2018
Friday, 15 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

October

Sunday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2018
Friday, 13 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 18 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 23 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Saturday, 11 November
Second semester examinations end
Wednesday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2018

^ Top of Page

December

Saturday, 9 December
Graduation ceremonies
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for the first year of the Bachelor of Physical Education programme in 2018 (later applications will be considered if places are available)
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2018
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2018
Wednesday, 13 December
Graduation ceremonies
Friday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies
Tuesday, 19 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)

^ Top of Page

January 2018

Wednesday, 3 January
University reopens
Sunday, 7 January
Latest arrival date for new international students studying at Summer School
Sunday, 7 January
Enrolment/Orientation seminar for new international students
Monday, 8 January
Summer School classes begin
Friday, 12 January
Summer School fees due
Monday, 15 January
Last day to add or delete Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Monday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking first semester or full years papers

^ Top of Page

February 2018

Monday, 5 February
Last day to withdraw from Summer School papers (5pm deadline)
Tuesday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Saturday, 10 February
Fees due for study beginning in the first semester
Friday, 16 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 17 February
Summer School examinations begin
Monday, 19 February
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in first semester
Monday, 19 February
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 23 February)
Monday, 19 February
Academic Orientation Week commences (until 23 February)
Wednesday, 21 February
Course Advice Days
Thursday, 22 February
Summer School examinations end
Thursday, 22 February
Course Advice Days
Friday, 23 February
Academic Orientation Week ends
Friday, 23 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking first semester and full year papers (late fee may apply)
Friday, 23 February
Preliminary lectures for first semester and full year papers
Monday, 26 February
Formal lectures begin

^ Top of Page

March 2018

Friday, 2 March
Last day to add first semester or full year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 16 March
Last day to delete first semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Friday, 23 March
Last day to delete full year papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Friday, 30 March
Good Friday and mid-semester break begins

^ Top of Page

April 2018

Monday, 2 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 3 April
Otago Anniversary Day observed (Dunedin)
Monday, 9 April
First semester resumes
Wednesday, 25 April
ANZAC Day

^ Top of Page

May 2018

Friday, 4 May
Last day to withdraw from first semester papers (5pm deadline)
Saturday, 12 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 19 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June 2018

Friday, 1 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 4 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 6 June
First semester examinations begin
Friday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only second semester papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2018
Wednesday, 20 June
First semester examinations end
Monday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only second semester papers

^ Top of Page

July 2018

Monday, 2 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 6 July)
Monday, 2 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in second semester
Monday, 2 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 6 July)
Thursday, 5 July
Course Advice Day
Monday, 9 July
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only second semester papers (late fee may apply)
Monday, 9 July
Second semester begins
Tuesday, 10 July
Fees due for second semester only enrolments
Friday, 13 July
Last day to add second semester papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 27 July
Last day to delete second semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August 2018

Saturday, 18 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 25 August
Mid-semester break begins
Friday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2019

^ Top of Page

September 2018

Saturday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2019
Monday, 3 September
Second semester resumes
Friday, 14 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)
Saturday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2019

^ Top of Page

October 2018

Monday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2019
Friday, 12 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 17 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 22 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November 2018

Saturday, 10 November
Second semester examinations end
Thursday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2019

^ Top of Page

December 2018

Saturday, 8 December
Graduation ceremonies
Monday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2019
Monday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2019
Wednesday, 12 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 15 December
Graduation ceremonies