Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic Key Dates

Student looking away smiling

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

January

Monday, 5 January
University reopens for 2015
Monday, 5 January
Academic Week 2 Begins
Monday, 5 January
Summer School Begins
Monday, 12 January
Academic Week 3 Begins
Thursday, 15 January
Due date for applying for returning students taking first semester and full year papers for a new programme subject to the Entry Pathway system
Monday, 19 January
Academic Week 4 Begins
Monday, 26 January
Academic Week 5 Begins

^ Top of Page

February

Monday, 2 February
Students may not withdraw from Summer School papers after 5pm on this date
Monday, 2 February
Academic Week 6 Begins
Friday, 6 February
Waitangi Day
Monday, 9 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking first semester and full year papers
Monday, 9 February
Academic Week 7 Begins
Tuesday, 10 February
Students enrolling for study beginning in the first semester must pay the invoiced amount of their Tuition Fee accounts by this date
Friday, 13 February
Summer School classes end
Saturday, 14 February
Summer School 2015 Examinations Begin
Monday, 16 February
Academic Orientation Week commences
Monday, 16 February
Academic Week 8 Begins
Monday, 16 February
Powhiri Ōtākou Marae
Monday, 16 February
Orientation week campus tour
Monday, 16 February
Orientation week campus tour
Monday, 16 February
Locals Programme: Welcome and BBQ
Monday, 16 February
Convocation Ceremony
Tuesday, 17 February
Connecting with the University
Tuesday, 17 February
Orientation week campus tour
Tuesday, 17 February
What you REALLY need to know to succeed at University
Tuesday, 17 February
Orientation week campus tour
Wednesday, 18 February
Are you sure? Division of Sciences course advice
Wednesday, 18 February
Course Advice Day 1
Wednesday, 18 February
International student information session & Expo of services
Wednesday, 18 February
Connecting with the University
Wednesday, 18 February
Orientation week campus tour
Wednesday, 18 February
Pacific Islands First Year Students’ Orientation
Wednesday, 18 February
Orientation week campus tour
Wednesday, 18 February
What you REALLY need to know to succeed at University
Wednesday, 18 February
Locals Programme: Study Smarter
Thursday, 19 February
Summer School Examinations 2015 end
Thursday, 19 February
Are you sure? Division of Sciences course advice
Thursday, 19 February
Course Advice Day 2
Thursday, 19 February
Orientation week campus tour
Thursday, 19 February
Connecting with the University
Thursday, 19 February
Orientation week campus tour
Thursday, 19 February
What you REALLY need to know to succeed at University
Thursday, 19 February
University of Otago Pacific Welcome
Friday, 20 February
Academic Orientation Week ends
Friday, 20 February
Preliminary lectures for full year and first semester papers
Friday, 20 February
Connecting with the University
Friday, 20 February
Orientation week campus tour
Friday, 20 February
BCom Orientation
Friday, 20 February
Orientation week campus tour
Monday, 23 February
Academic Week 9 Begins
Monday, 23 February
Formal lectures begin in most courses
Friday, 27 February
Students may not add any first semester or full year papers to their courses after 5pm on this date

^ Top of Page

March

Sunday, 1 March
Applications for Final Examination Only enrolment in full year and first semester papers must reach the Student Records Office by this date
Monday, 2 March
Academic Week 10 Begins
Monday, 9 March
Academic Week 11 Begins
Friday, 13 March
Students who withdraw from first semester papers up until 5pm on this date are eligible for a refund of fees (subject to certain conditions)
Monday, 16 March
Academic Week 12 Begins
Friday, 20 March
Students who withdraw from full year papers up until 5pm on this date are eligible for a refund of fees (subject to certain conditions)
Monday, 23 March
Academic Week 13 Begins
Monday, 30 March
Academic Week 14 Begins

^ Top of Page

April

Friday, 3 April
Mid-semester one break begins
Friday, 3 April
Good Friday
Monday, 6 April
Academic Week 15 Begins
Monday, 6 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 7 April
Otago Anniversary Day observed (Dunedin)
Monday, 13 April
First semester resumes
Monday, 13 April
Academic Week 16 Begins
Monday, 20 April
Academic Week 17 Begins
Saturday, 25 April
ANZAC Day
Monday, 27 April
Academic Week 18 Begins
Monday, 27 April
ANZAC Day Public Holiday

^ Top of Page

May

Friday, 1 May
Students may not withdraw from first semester papers after 5pm on this date
Monday, 4 May
Academic Week 19 Begins
Monday, 11 May
Academic Week 20 Begins
Monday, 18 May
Academic Week 21 Begins
Monday, 25 May
Academic Week 22 Begins
Friday, 29 May
First semester lectures end

^ Top of Page

June

Monday, 1 June
Queen's Birthday
Monday, 1 June
Academic Week 23 Begins
Wednesday, 3 June
Mid-year examination period begins
Monday, 8 June
Academic Week 24 Begins
Monday, 15 June
All new applications for admission and/or enrolment in the second semester should be submitted by this date
Monday, 15 June
Academic Week 25 Begins
Wednesday, 17 June
Mid-year examinations end
Monday, 22 June
Academic Week 26 Begins
Thursday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only second semester papers
Saturday, 27 June
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only second semester papers
Monday, 29 June
Academic Week 27 Begins

^ Top of Page

July

Monday, 6 July
Academic Week 28 Begins
Monday, 6 July
Second semester begins
Friday, 10 July
Students may not add second semester papers to their course after 5pm on this date
Friday, 10 July
Students enrolling for study beginning in the second semester must pay the invoiced amount of their Tuition Fee accounts by this date
Monday, 13 July
Academic Week 29 Begins
Monday, 20 July
Academic Week 30 Begins
Friday, 24 July
To be eligible to change from international to domestic fee status for second semester papers, a student must have a permanent resident visa with this date
Friday, 24 July
Students who withdraw from second semester papers up until 5pm on this date are eligible for a refund of fees (subject to certain conditions)
Monday, 27 July
Academic Week 31 Begins
Friday, 31 July
Applications for Final Examination Only enrolment in second semester papers must reach the Student Records Office by this date

^ Top of Page

August

Monday, 3 August
Academic Week 32 Begins
Monday, 10 August
Academic Week 33 Begins
Monday, 17 August
Academic Week 34 Begins
Saturday, 22 August
Mid-semester two break begins
Monday, 24 August
Academic Week 35 Begins
Monday, 31 August
Academic Week 36 Begins
Monday, 31 August
Second semester resumes

^ Top of Page

September

Monday, 7 September
Academic Week 37 Begins
Friday, 11 September
Students may not withdraw from full year or second semester papers after 5pm on this date
Monday, 14 September
Academic Week 38 Begins
Monday, 21 September
Academic Week 39 Begins
Monday, 28 September
Academic Week 40 Begins

^ Top of Page

October

Monday, 5 October
Academic Week 41 Begins
Friday, 9 October
Lectures end prior to second semester examinations
Monday, 12 October
Academic Week 42 Begins
Wednesday, 14 October
Semester Two 2015 Examinations begin
Monday, 19 October
Academic Week 43 Begins
Monday, 26 October
Academic Week 44 Begins
Monday, 26 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Monday, 2 November
Academic Week 45 Begins
Saturday, 7 November
Semester Two 2015 Examinations end
Monday, 9 November
Academic Week 46 Begins
Monday, 16 November
Academic Week 47 Begins
Monday, 23 November
Academic Week 48 Begins
Monday, 30 November
Academic Week 49 Begins

^ Top of Page

December

Monday, 7 December
Academic Week 50 Begins
Monday, 14 December
Academic Week 51 Begins
Tuesday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Monday, 21 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers
Monday, 21 December
Academic Week 52 Begins