Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic Key Dates

Student looking away smiling

Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2018

February

Thursday, 23 February
Summer School examinations end
Thursday, 23 February
Course advice for Health Science First Year students
Thursday, 23 February
OUSA Rummage Sale
Thursday, 23 February
Course advice for first-year Humanities students
Thursday, 23 February
Course Advice Days
Thursday, 23 February
Course advice for first-year Sciences students
Thursday, 23 February
Course advice for first-year Commerce students
Thursday, 23 February
eTransition
Thursday, 23 February
Course advice for first-year BBiomedSc students
Thursday, 23 February
Course advice for first-year BBiomedSc students
Thursday, 23 February
Planning your Bachelor of Arts (BA) programme
Thursday, 23 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Thursday, 23 February
Introduction to LAWS 101: Pathway to the Profession
Thursday, 23 February
locals Orientation - Welcome and BBQ
Thursday, 23 February
Learn, develop, succeed
Thursday, 23 February
Hāngī
Thursday, 23 February
International students - Looking after yourselves in NZ’s great outdoors
Thursday, 23 February
UNIO 101: University transition and success
Friday, 24 February
Preliminary lectures
Friday, 24 February
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking first semester and full year papers (late fee may apply)
Friday, 24 February
Course advice for first-year Commerce students
Friday, 24 February
Welcome and introduction to the BCom - all Commerce students
Friday, 24 February
Welcome and introduction to the BCom - all Commerce students
Saturday, 25 February
OUSA International Food Festival
Monday, 27 February
Formal lectures begin

^ Top of Page

March

Thursday, 2 March
Returning to study? Unistart
Friday, 3 March
Last day to add first semester or full year papers (5pm deadline)
Thursday, 16 March
Taimane Academic Mentoring Programme
Friday, 17 March
Last day to delete first semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)
Wednesday, 22 March
2017 Improvement Grants
Wednesday, 22 March
2017 Improvement Grants
Friday, 24 March
Last day to delete full year papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

April

Friday, 14 April
Good Friday, mid-semester break begins
Monday, 17 April
Easter Monday
Tuesday, 18 April
Otago Anniversary Day observance (Dunedin)
Monday, 24 April
First semester resumes
Tuesday, 25 April
ANZAC Day

^ Top of Page

May

Friday, 5 May
Last day to withdraw from first semester papers (5pm deadline)
Monday, 8 May
Live streaming of 13 & 20 May 2017 Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 13 May
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 20 May
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

June

Friday, 2 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 5 June
Queen's Birthday
Wednesday, 7 June
First semester examinations begin
Thursday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only second semester papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2017
Wednesday, 21 June
First semester examinations end
Sunday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only second semester papers
Friday, 30 June
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only second semester papers (late fee may apply)

^ Top of Page

July

Monday, 3 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in second semester
Monday, 3 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until 6 July)
Thursday, 6 July
Course Advice Day
Monday, 10 July
Second semester begins
Monday, 10 July
Fees due for second semester only enrolments
Friday, 14 July
Last day to add second semester papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 28 July
Last day to delete second semester papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Saturday, 19 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 26 August
Mid-semester break begins
Thursday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Teacher Education programmes in 2018

^ Top of Page

September

Friday, 1 September
Applications due for Music Performance papers in 2018
Monday, 4 September
Second semester resumes
Friday, 15 September
Last day to withdraw from second semester and full year papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 15 September
Applications due for first year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2018

^ Top of Page

October

Sunday, 1 October
Applications due for second year classes in Law and the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2018
Friday, 13 October
Lectures end before second semester examinations
Wednesday, 18 October
Second semester examinations begin
Monday, 23 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Saturday, 11 November
Second semester examinations end
Wednesday, 15 November
Applications due for second year classes in Surveying in 2018

^ Top of Page

December

Saturday, 9 December
Graduation ceremonies
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for first enrolment in most Honours, Postgraduate Diploma and Masters’ programmes in 2018
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due for the first year of the Bachelor of Physical Education programme in 2018 (later applications will be considered if places are available)
Sunday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or first semester subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2018
Wednesday, 13 December
Graduation ceremonies
Friday, 15 December
Due date for submission of Summer School papers for course approval
Saturday, 16 December
Graduation ceremonies
Tuesday, 19 December
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)

^ Top of Page

January 2018

Monday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking first semester or full years papers