Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Division of Sciences Research

Associate Dean Research

Professor Jon Waters is the Associate Dean Research for the Division of Sciences.
View research interests and teaching schedule
Tel 64 3 479 5847

Divisional Research advisers

Kate Berard
responsible for: Chemistry, Clothing and Textile Sciences, Computer Science, Design, Food Science, Human Nutrition, Mathematics and Statistics, Physical Education, Physics and Psychology
Tel 64 3 479 8484

AJ Woodhouse
responsible for: Botany, CSAFE, Geography, Geology, Marine Science, Surveying and Zoology
Tel 64 3 479 7717

The Division of Sciences has a Research Strategy Group which meets on a regular basis. The group aims to break down the barriers between research disciplines, improving support and communication for Researchers, sharing best practice and improving the research culture within the Division. If you wish to contact the group please do so via Kate and AJ.

Mining the bedrock - world-class science research at Otago among New Zealand's best

The strengths and variety of research carried out in the Division of Sciences are recognised in the University of Otago's Research Themes and Areas of Research Excellence.

The extent of national and international recognition for the work of Sciences staff is also reflected in the trebling of external research funding to the Division over the last 8 years and in the Division having 16 elected Fellows of the Royal Society of New Zealand.

The University and the Division offer an extensive range of contestable postgraduate scholarships. For more information on Scholarships at the University of Otago visit the Scholarships office website