Monday 21 March 2022 1:53pm

Alumni named as Rising Stars by NZ Lawyer

Young Otago Law alumni named as Rising Stars 2022 by NZ Lawyer magazine include Nicolette Luke, Ashley-Jane (AJ) Lodge, Beatrix H Woodhouse, Brooke White, Charlotte Moll (Sygrove), Georgia Angus, Megan Roberts, Cameron Murphy, Bede Maher, Josh Williams, Alastair Holland, Andrew Kirk, Charles Henley, Edward Eisdell-Moore, Jason Zwi, Nathan Watt, Wade Pearson and Zac Kedgley-Foot

Professor Bronwyn Hayward Supreme Winner in Women of Influence Awards

Bronwyn-Hayward 650x400

Climate change advocate Professor Bronwyn Hayward has been named the Supreme Winner at the annual Women of Influence awards. A professor at the University of Canterbury, Professor Hayward also won the environment category for her internationally-recognised work on tackling climate change.

Important new HIV research findings from Professor Carole McArthur

Carole McArthur 650x400

Research by distinguished alumna Professor Carole McArthur suggests HIV prevalence in the Democratic Republic of Congo is substantially higher than previously reported.

Glen Denham new Principal at Wellington College

Otago alumnus Glen Denham (BEd, 2001) is the new Headmaster at Wellington College. Currently the Principal at Massey High School in Auckland, he is a keen sportsperson and holds the record as the Tall Blacks' longest serving captain.

Scholarship to University of Cambridge for breast cancer research

Recent PhD graduate Dr Hamish McMillan has been awarded the $120,000 Breast Cancer Foundation of New Zealand 2022 Ronald Kay Science Fellowship. Dr McMillan will use the grant to carry out a post-doctoral position at the prestigious Cancer Research United Kingdom Cambridge Institute at the University of Cambridge.

Author Vanda Symon nominated for prestigious book award

Vanda Symon pic 650x400

Crime fiction novel Bound by Dunedin-based crime writer Vanda Symon has been nominated for a prestigious Barry Award in the USA. As well as writing crime fiction, Vanda also works as a Research Fellow at Va'a O Tautai - Centre for Pacific Health at Otago.

Dr Pratik Chandra awarded Gordon Sanderson Scholarship

Dr Pratik Chandra has been awarded the 2021 Gordon Sanderson Scholarship and will be investigating the benefits of patient education to improve glaucoma therapy adherence.

Back to top