Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Committee for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching (CALT)

Clocktower from the Leith

The Committee for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching is a committee of Senate. Its purpose is to support and promote excellence in learning and teaching across the University.

^ Top of Page

Terms of Reference

  • To develop new strategies directed at contemporary topics in teaching and learning, primarily through the establishment of thematic subcommittees and working groups.
  • To initiate, create and advance policies and guidelines on teaching, learning, assessment and evaluation.
  • To recognise, support and promote excellence and innovative developments in teaching and learning, and the effective use of information and communication technologies.
  • To work with University bodies and external agencies to disseminate information on innovative practice in teaching, learning and assessment, including the Internationalisation Committee.
  • To administer, evaluate and award the annual Otago Teaching Excellence Awards and to select nominees for the national awards.
  • To foster and facilitate research and scholarship into university teaching and learning, including disbursing, administering and reporting on University funds.
  • To encourage applications for externally funded grants for the development and support of excellence in teaching and learning.
  • To serve as an Advisory Group to the Higher Education Development Centre.
  • To discuss and, where appropriate, act upon regular reports from the Higher Education Development Centre and Information Technology Services.
  • ^ Top of Page


Composition of the Board Member Expiry date (if applicable)
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic) (Convener) Professor Pat Cragg Ex officio
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Enterprise) or nominee Professor Richard Blaikie Ex officio
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Commerce Dr John Williams 31 December 2020
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Health Sciences Dr Alesha Smith 31 December 2022
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Humanities Dr Fairleigh Gilmour 31 December 2022
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (or nominee) of the Division of Sciences Professor Shiela Skeaff 31 December 2021
Director, International Mr Jason Cushen Ex officio
Head, Higher Education Development Centre (HEDC) Associate Professor Ben Daniel Ex officio
Director, Distance Learning Dr Sarah Stein Ex officio
Director (or nominee), Student and Academic Services Dr Stephen Scott
Director, Summer School and Continuing Education Dr Elaine Webster Ex officio
OUSA representative Ms Emily Coyle 31 December 2020
Director, Quality Advancement Ms Margaret Morgan Ex officio
Information Technology Services Division representative Ms Nicola Walmsley 31 December 2021
Library representative Ms Cate Bardwell 31 December 2020
Co-opted Dr Russell Butson 31 December 2021
Professor Rachel Zajac 31 December 2020

Committee Secretary
In attendance

Mr Matt Angel (

The Board has the power to co-opt as required.

^ Top of Page

Meeting dates for 2020

CALT Meeting dates (Thursdays at 2:00pm)Deadline for submission
30 January21 January
26 March17 March
28 May19 May
30 July21 July
24 September15 September
26 November17 November

^ Top of page

University Teaching Development Grants

The primary purpose of University Teaching Development Grants is to foster active and scholarly development of teaching in order to enhance the quality of teaching and learning in the University.

Grants are to be used for scholarly project work such as planning, implementing and evaluating a curriculum intervention of some kind (e.g. new course design, further development of an existing course or programme), or incorporating the use of e-technology in teaching and learning (eLearning Enhancement).

Grants may also be used for Strategic Projects. For more information go to University Teaching Development Grants.

Applications for 2021 close on Tuesday 1 October 2020.

Past recipients of University Teaching Development Grants

^ Top of Page