Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

University of Otago Council membership 2022

Council inside banner


The University Council is chaired by the Chancellor, Dr Royden Somerville QC. In the absence of the Chancellor, the Pro-Chancellor, Mr Stephen Higgs deputises.

Appointed by the Minister for Tertiary Education

Ex Officio

Elected by the academic staff

Elected by the professional staff

President of the Otago University Students' Association Incorporated

Appointed by the University of Otago Council

Secretary to the Council

  • Mr C J Stoddart