Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

University of Otago Council – Council member vacancy

The University of Otago Council invites applications for appointment to the University Council to fill one vacancy. The role of Council members is to contribute to the governance of the University by collectively ensuring that Council carries out its functions and duties effectively and exercises its powers appropriately.

The Council is seeking applications from experienced governance professionals with a connection to the University and its history.

Ideally applicants will have skills and experience including, but not limited to the following:

  • Strong governance experience and knowledge
  • IT (Cyber/Infrastructure)
  • Climate Change
  • Legal and Regulatory
  • Sound commercial and financial acumen, derived from experience with organisations at scale
  • An interest in and passion for tertiary education and the university environment would be advantageous.

Commitment required

The Council meets 10–12 times per year, with members also attending other engagements and ceremonies as required.


Initial terms of up to 4 years, with further terms possible (of up to 12 years’ service in total).

Geographical considerations

This vacancy is open to governance professionals nationwide.  We especially welcome applications from alumni of the University of Otago and/or Otago-Southland IoD .

The Institute of Directors is managing applications on behalf of the University Council.


Apply now

The closing date for applications is Sunday, 11 February 2024.

Applicants will be interviewed by an appointments panel, late February 2024, and appointed by the Council.

For more information, please contact the IOD board appointment services team:


Information on the role of the University Council can be found on the University of Otago Council webpages.

Back to top