Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Our staff

Academic staff

Neha Agarwal 2022 imageNeha Agarwal

Lecturer
Email neha.agarwal@otago.ac.nz
Applied microeconomics; development; health; gender; labour.


Nathan Berg 2022 imageNathan Berg

Professor
Email nathan.berg@otago.ac.nz
Behavioural economics.


David FieldingDavid Fielding

Professor
Email david.fielding@otago.ac.nz
Trust and altruism; economics of altruism; economics of conflict; economic development in sub-Saharan Africa; pre-industrial economic history.


Murat Genç 2022 imageMurat Genç

Associate Professor
Email murat.genc@otago.ac.nz
Applied microeconometrics.

Honours student adviser
D
irector of Masters programmes


Peter Gibbard 2022 imagePeter Gibbard

Lecturer
Email peter.gibbard@otago.ac.nz
Industrial organization and competition economics; discrete-choice econometrics; economics of search; behavioural economics.


Hansen2018Paul Hansen

Professor
Email paul.hansen@otago.ac.nz
Health economics; multi-criteria decision-making; conjoint analysis.


Alfred Haug 2021 imageAlfred Haug

Professor
Email alfred.haug@otago.ac.nz
Empirical monetary and fiscal policy; macroeconometrics; C02 emissions and macroeconomic determinants; economic impact of oil-market shocks


Viktoria Kahui 2022 imageViktoria Kahui

Senior Lecturer
Email viktoria.kahui@otago.ac.nz
Environmental economics; ecological economics.


Alan KingAlan King

Honorary Associate Professor
Email alan.king@otago.ac.nz
Fourier-form unit root tests; long-term inflation expectations; purchasing power parity; modelling CO2 emissions.


Stephen Knowles 2022 imageStephen Knowles

Professor
Email stephen.knowles@otago.ac.nz
Experimental economics; altruism and charitable giving; applied economic growth and development.

Director of PhD programme


Daniel Neururer 2022 imageDaniel Neururer

Lecturer
Email daniel.neururer@otago.ac.nz
Trust and trustworthiness; lying and deception; credence goods markets; the effects of mindfulness-based interventions on social preferences.


Dorian Owen imageDorian Owen

Professor
Email dorian.owen@otago.ac.nz
Applied econometrics; economic growth and development; sports economics.


Arlene Ozanne imageArlene Ozanne

Senior lecturer
Email arlene.ozanne@otago.ac.nz
Economic growth and development; labour migration; Asian economies; natural disasters and resilience; other socioeconomic issues.


Ronald PeetersRonald Peeters

Professor
Email ronald.peeters@otago.ac.nz
Game theory; behavioural economics; experimental economics; industrial organization.

Head of Department


Trent Smith 2022 imageTrent Smith

Associate Professor
Email trent.smith@otago.ac.nz
Behavioural economics; health economics; industrial organization.


Paul Thorsnes imagePaul Thorsnes

Senior Lecturer
Email paul.thorsnes@otago.ac.nz
Empirical urban economics and policy.


Murat Ungor 2022 imageMurat Üngor

Senior Lecturer
Email murat.ungor@otago.ac.nz
International macroeconomics; macroeconomics; economic growth; structural transformation and technological change.


Dennis WesselbaumDennis Wesselbaum

Senior Lecturer
Email dennis.wesselbaum@otago.ac.nz
Macroeconomics (especially monetary and fiscal policy); quantitative economics; economic growth; migration; interaction between climate, environment and society.


Teaching staff

Aleisha Lord 2022 imageAleisha Lord

Teaching Fellow
Email aleisha.lord@otago.ac.nz


Kerr imageTerry Kerr

Teaching Fellow
Email terry.kerr@otago.ac.nz


Warren NcNoe imageWarren McNoe

Teaching Fellow
Email warren.mcnoe@otago.ac.nz


Professional staff

Janet BryantJanet Bryant

Administrator Client Services
Email janet.bryant@otago.ac.nz


Donna Cumberbeach 2022 imageDonna Cumberbeach

Assistant Administrator Client Services
Email donna.cumberbeach@otago.ac.nz