Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

The Frances Hodgkins Fellowship

The Frances Hodgkins Fellowship was established by the University of Otago Council in 1962 to aid and encourage painters, sculptors and multi-media artists, while at the same time associating them with the life of the University and fostering an interest in the Arts within the University. It was named after Dunedin-born Frances Hodgkins, one of New Zealand's most distinguished painters.

The annual, 12-month Fellowship provides a studio/office space and not less than the minimum salary of a full-time university lecturer. It is open to artists who are normally resident in New Zealand and who, in the opinion of the Selection Committee, have executed work that demonstrates their talent, and would benefit from holding the Fellowship.

See the list of all previous Frances Hodgkins Fellowship recipients

Frances Hodgkins Fellow 2023: Emily Hartley-Skudder

Emily Hartley-Skudder imageEmily Hartley-Skudder

In her short career, Emily Hartley-Skudder has established an impressive professional résumé of solo and group exhibitions in Aotearoa, China, Japan, Australia and throughout the United States.

Her artistic process begins with collecting objects and materials. The search for miniatures, toys and plastic receptacles has expanded into bathroom ceramics, carpets and snake-oil hygiene tools. She responds to these objects, arranging them as still lifes to be photographed and then translated into detailed oil paintings. These show-home installations explore the synthetic yet homely; the familiarly strange.

Currently residing in Wellington, she is “blown away” by the opportunity the Fellowship provides and is looking forward to exploring Ōtepoti, meeting local artists, and researching the city’s architecture – especially domestic dwellings – by delving into the Hocken Collections.