Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Calendar of events

The 2017 LSAANZ Annual Conference, “A Meeting Place for Interdisciplinary Explorations of Justice”, commences Wednesday, 6 December and concludes at 12pm Saturday 9 December 2017.

Download the  2017 LSAANZ Conference Programme (updated 4 Dec 2017)

Download the  2017 LSAANZ and SAANZ Postgraduate Day Programme (updated 4 Dec 2017)

Download the 2017 LSAANZ Full Abstracts and Speaker Biographies (updated 5 Dec 2017 - 708KB)

Download the 2017 Conference Handbook (updated 5 Dec 2017 - 2MB)

Keynote Speakers

  • Professor Hilary Charlesworth Melbourne Laureate Professor Melbourne Law School, and Distinguished Professor and Director of the Centre for International Governance and Justice in the Regulatory Institutions Network at the Australian National University whose extensive leading work considers how to strengthen the rule of law including considering dimensions of gender and international law, and how to build justice and democracy after conflict.
  • Professor Angela Riley University California Los Angles, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Citizen Potawatomi Nation of Oklahoma and Co-Chair for the United Nations - Indigenous Peoples' Partnership Policy Board whose research explores Indigenous Peoples' rights with a particular emphasis on cultural property and Native governance and justice.
  • Professor Brian Tamanaha(NZ Law Foundation Sponsored Speaker) Washington University Law School, logo_nzlfworld renowned jurist and law and society scholar whose significant publications include Failing Law Schools (2012), Beyond the Formalist-Realist Divide: The Role of Politics in Judging (2010); Law as a Means to an End: Threat to the Rule of Law (2006), On the Rule of Law: History, Politics, Theory (2004), A General Jurisprudence of Law and Society (2001).
  • Judge Heemi Taumaunu led the pioneering development of Rangatahi Courts on marae in New Zealand for Māori youth and has recently received the prestigious international Swiss-based Veillard-Cybulski Award which honours work in advancing children's rights in the justice system.  In 2015 the Rangatahi Courts won the Australasian Institute of Judicial Administration's Award for Excellence in Judicial Administration and in 2016 they received an Institute of Public Administration New Zealand award. Judge Taumaunu sits on Rangatahi Courts throughout the country.
  • Judge Lisa Tremewan has been  a judge for ten years, sitting at the Waitakere District Court.  She helped establish New Zealand's first Alcohol and Other Drug Treatment Court/Te Whare Whakpiki Wairua.  This court is designed to “break the cycle” where offending has its origins in, or is fuelled by, serious unresolved alcohol and other drug issues. Where this is achieved, it is not only better and safer for the community, but also for offenders and their families.
  • Professor Tom Tyler Yale  University, professor of psychology, law and management whose award  winning internationally "paradigm shifting scholarship" focuses on the  role of justice in shaping people's relationships with groups,  organisations, communities and societies including author of Why People  Cooperate (2011); Legitimacy and Criminal Justice (2007); Why People  Obey the Law (2006); Trust in the Law (2002); and Cooperation in Groups  (2000).

Otago is excited to be hosting a number of related conferences at a similar time to the LSAANZ conference. Consider extending your stay to attend some of these as well:

Back to top