Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Te Roopū Rakahau Hauora Māori o Kāi Tahu (Ngā Tahu Māori Health Research Unit; NTMHRU) was established in 1996 as a result of a partnership between the then Ngāi Tahu Māori Trust Board (since superseded by Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu) and the University of Otago Faculty of Medicine).

Led by Professor Emma Wyeth and Professor Sue Crengle, the NTMHRU contributes to a wide range of Māori health research projects and initiatives within the Division of Health Sciences, the University of Otago, and our communities to ensure important and beneficial outcomes for Māori are attained.

Māori Health research team photo

Our research

NTMHRU has a broad research focus.

NTMHRU Expert Advisory Rōpū

The NTMHRU Expert Advisory Rōpū was established as part of the redevelopment and reinvigoration of the Ngāi Tahu Māori Health Research Unit. This contributes to our aim of advancing the development of a comprehensive and sustainable research platform that significantly contributes to understanding and improving the health and well-being of Māori, including Ngāi Tahu specifically. The Rōpū is made up of key personnel and organisations who provide guidance, support and development to the Unit's direction, development of research projects and translation of research findings.

Left to right:
Peter Ellison (Māori Health director, WellSouth Primary Health Network)
Tracey Wright-Tawha (Chief Executive Officer, Ngā Kete Mātauranga Pounamu Charitable Trust)
Amber Clarke (Programme Leader - Hauora, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu)
Nadine Goldsmith (Nurse Practitioner, Awarua Whānau Services)
Justine Camp (Research Fellow and PhD student, University of Otago)
Rachel Brown (Māori health researcher, University of Auckland)
Matapura Ellison (Deputy Kaiwhakahaere, Te Rūnanga o Ngāi Tahu and Chair, Kāti Huirapa Rūnaka ki Puketeraki)
Absent:Rachel Miller (Manager, Mataora/Te Kāika)

Back to top