Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Landfall current issue

LANDFALL 240 front cover copyLandfall 240: Spring 2020

Edited by Emma Neale

Reviews editor Michelle Elvy

Featured artists

Scott Eady, Yonel Watene (cover), Fatu Feu`u

Awards & competitions

Featuring the winners of the Landfall Essay Competition 2020, the Caselberg Trust International Poetry Prize 2020 and the Frank Sargeson Prize 2020.


John Allison, Nick Ascroft, Wanda Baker, Peter Belton, Victor Billot, Ella Borrie, Cindy Botha, Liz Breslin, Brent Cantwell, Marisa Cappetta, Catherine Chidgey, Jennifer Compton, Lynn Davidson, Breton Dukes, Norman Franke, Jasmine Gallagher, Giles Graham, Charlotte Grimshaw, Rebecca Hawkes, Nathaniel Herz-Edinger, Zoe Higgins, Gail Ingram, Ash Davida Jane, Pippi Jean, Stacey Kokaua, A.M. McKinnon, Cilla McQueen, Alice Miller, Jessica Le Bas, Art Nahill, Jilly O’Brien, Chris Parsons, Sarah Paterson, Robyn Maree Pickens, Angela Pope, Sugu Pillay, essa may ranapiri, Vaughan Rapatahana, Alan Roddick, Ruth Russ, Lynda Scott Araya, Tracey Slaughter, Matafanua Tamatoa, Jessica Thompson-Carr, Catherine Trundle, Chris Tse, Iain Twiddy, Oscar Upperton, Tim Upperton, Dunstan Ward, Harris Williamson, Sharni Wilson, Sophia Wilson, Anna Woods


Landfall Review Online: books recently reviewed. And:
JAMES NORCLIFFE on Eileen Duggan Selected Poems, ed. Peter Whiteford; Denis Glover Selected Poems, ed. Bill Manhire; and R.A.K. Mason: Uncollected Poems, ed. Roger Hickin
CATHERINE ROBERTSON on All the Way to Summer: Stories of love and longing by Fiona Kidman
GIOVANNI TISO on Not in Narrow Seas: The economic history of Aotearoa New Zealand by Brian Easton
GENEVIEVE SCANLAN on Mezzaluna by Michele Leggott
CHRIS TSE on How to Be Old by Rachel McAlpine and The Lifers by Michael Steven


EMMA NEALE, who lives in Dunedin, has published six novels and five poetry collections, and edited several anthologies. She is a former Robert Burns fellow (2012) and has received numerous awards and grants for her writing including the Janet Frame/NZSA Memorial Prize for Literature (2008), the University of Otago/Sir James Wallace Pah Residency (2014), and she was Philip and Diane Beatson/NZSA Writing Fellow in 2015. Neale was awarded the Kathleen Grattan Award for 2011 for her poetry collection The Truth Garden, and was longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award and finalist for the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2017 for her novel Billy Bird. She has extensive experience as a literary editor and reviewer, and holds a PhD in New Zealand Literature from University College London (UK).

Publication details

Paperback, 215 x 165 mm, 208 pp, 16 in colour, $30
ISBN 9781988592633

Published with the assistance of Creative New Zealand