Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The University Union is a commercial University owned operation comprising of 17 business units around campus.

The University Union is part of the University's Campus and Collegiate Life Services Division, with the General Manager reporting directly to the Director of Campus and Collegiate Life Services.

The Union's business units are divided into three major areas of operation, College Catering, Retail and Food & Beverage. The College Catering operation caters onsite to 2500 students residing at:

  • University College
  • Caroline Freeman College
  • Hayward College
  • Aquinas College
  • Cumberland College
  • Toroa College
  • Arana College
  • Studholme College
  • Carrington College
  • 192 Castle College

The Retail operation consists of:

  • Campus Shop
  • Visitors' Centre

The Food and Beverage operation consists of the following food outlets:

  • Te Mātiti
  • Café Albany
  • Auahi Ora
  • St Davids Café
  • Marsh Study Centre

The Union also operates the University of Otago Staff Club, the student entertainment venue - U Bar, and a significant University wide Conference and Events operation.

The Union is responsible for the management of the common space in the ISB Link, University Union Building, Staff Club, Hunter Building, St David Complex and the Marsh Study Centre.

Back to top