Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Welcome to the Division of Sciences

The Division of Sciences represents a broad range of disciplines in 14 departments and a number of interdisciplinary programmes, offering challenging and rigorous undergraduate and postgraduate qualifications.

The Division’s Strategic Plan 2006 - 2012 encapsulates this as:

“Cutting-edge scientific discovery and instruction from world-class staff in an inspirational setting.”

The Division has research and teaching strengths in fundamental and applied sciences, in human performance and health, and in environmental science. We offer degrees in Science, Applied Science, Physical Education and Surveying and these degrees include a number of disciplines that are unique to Otago.

Course advising  

For course advice and course approval please come to Division of Sciences administration, 85 Union Place West.

Find out more about course advising

If you want to find another pathway forward to a career in science…

Visit Pathfinder: Division of Sciences


The Divisions of Sciences and Health Sciences get involved in a lot of things out and about - some at schools, some for public. For an overview of activities check out the new website

Science Outreach@Otago

Students involved in outreach or community engagement activities can sign up to receive the Science Outreach Certificate. Find out more, get set up or login to update your portfolio here:

Outreach certificate