Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The 20Twenties Young Alumni Awards celebrates the achievements of 20 University of Otago alumni who are still in their twenties.

Many of our young alumni have achieved great things in a wide array of arenas and within diverse aspects of many different communities. These young alumni are true trailblazers who challenge the status quo to make a better future for all of us. The 20Twenties awards celebrate what they have achieved and acknowledge them publicly.

Read about the recipients of the inaugural 20Twenties Young Alumni Awards.

20Twenties inaugural award winners

Below is a full list of recipients for the 20Twenties Young Alumni awards. Read more about the awards here.

  • Hitaua Arahanga-Doyle BCom BA(Hons):In recognition of leadership, mentorship of undergraduate and postgraduate students, and of his higher studies.

  • Lisa Blakie BA(Hons):For her contribution to creative and ethical video game development.

  • Thomas Devine BSc(Hons):In recognition of his leadership as Kaiāwhina Māori, mentorship of younger students and of pursuing higher studies.

  • Sinead Ford BPhEd PGDipSci:In recognition of extensive leadership and volunteer work.

  • Emily Fry LLB(Hons) BCom: For her contribution to the field of digital technologies and their security implications.

  • Sargam Goundar PGDipArts: For her contribution to climate change initiatives and in recognition of her leadership.

  • Martin Hannah BSc PGDipSci: For his contribution to child and youth development.

  • Francisco Hernandez BA(Hons) MEntr: In recognition of his leadership of climate change initiatives.

  • Abby Howells BA(Hons): In recognition of her success as a comedian, actor, improviser, and writer.

  • Pinky Lal BSc(Hons): In recognition of her extensive volunteer and leadership work.

  • Bethany Lomax BSc(Hons): For her contribution to space research.

  • Sophie Mathiesen BSc(Hons): For her contribution to science communication.

  • Aidan Meyer COP BSc: In recognition of scientific curiosity for the betterment of the community.

  • Jo Mohan BCom: In recognition of her entrepreneurial spirit to better the environment.

  • Sophie Oliff BPharm: In recognition of leadership and volunteer work in the health sector.

  • Darryl Pupi BSc: For his contribution to health and well-being through leadership and innovation of nutrition programmes.

  • Georgia Robertson LLB BA: In recognition of leadership in a non-profit organisation that benefits education projects.

  • George Taiaroa BSc(Hons): In recognition of research work in response to Covid-19.

  • Georgia Thomson-Laing BSc(Hons) MSc: In recognition of research into aquatic health for the betterment of community health and for her commitment to mentoring.

  • Kawiti Waetford MusB: In recognition of success as a performer and for commitment to rangatahi.

Back to top