Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Transport Research Network Research Theme

Transport Research Network Research Theme

Transport Research Network’s vision is to become New Zealand’s leading interdisciplinary and cross-sector transport research network.

Specific goals of the Transport Research Network Research Theme include:
a) establishing a strong national hub of cross-sectoral and interdisciplinary transport-related research;
b) building transport research capacity and capability within the University of Otago;
c) creating a hub that connects University of Otago researchers and transport sector practitioners; and
d) becoming the key provider of research that informs evidence-based policy development in the transport sector.

Planned activities include growing transport research projects and research capacity at the University of Otago, a leadership role in connecting professionals from different sectors, contributing to evidence-based policy development and attracting high-profile transport researchers to Otago.

Planned outcomes

  • Obtain significant research funding
  • Communicate high-impact research
  • Increase capacity and capability for undertaking transport research at Otago
  • Attract high-profile academic visitors
  • Build strong relationships with key transport agencies and stakeholders

Steering Group

Principal Investigators

Advisory Board Members

  • Mrs Bonita Gestro, Ministry of Transport, Wellington
  • Mr Andrew Jackson, Consulting Jackson Ltd., Wellington
  • Ms Susan Lilley, Dunedin City Council, Transport Planning Team Leader, Dunedin
  • Professor Simon Kingham, University of Canterbury, Christchurch

Associate Investigators

Current New Zealand Collaborators

  • Associate Professor Melody Smith, The University of Auckland, Auckland
  • Professor Erica Hinckson, Auckland University of Technology, Auckland
  • Professor Ben Wooliscroft, Auckland University of Technology

Current International Collaborators

  • Professor Jennifer Mindell, UCL (University College London), United Kingdom
  • Associate Professor Debbie Hopkins, Transport Studies Unit, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Associate Professor, Palma Chillón, University of Granada, Spain
  • Professor Scott Cohen, University of Surrey, United Kingdom
  • Dr Paul Peters, Breda Centre for Sustainability, Tourism and Transport, The Netherlands
  • Dr Ya-Yen Sun, University of Queensland, Australia
  • Professor Stefen Gössling, Lund University, Sweden

Current Research Students

  •  Mr Mohammad Luftur Rahman, PhD Student, University of Otago, Dunedin


To sign up for TRN Research Theme Membership follow the link TRN Membership