Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Colorectal cancer control in New Zealand - Public Health Research

Modelling Disease and Cancer Outcomes in New Zealand (MoDCONZ)


Investigators

Dr Patrick Graham, Dr Diana Sarfati, Mr Magnus McGee, Dr Ian Sheerin, Dr Gillian Abel, Ms Suzanne Pitama, Dr Phil Hider, Dr Lee Thompson, Asst Prof Bridget Robinson, Asst Prof Brian Cox, Dr Tony Reeder, Dr Terri Green, Dr Susan Parry, Mr Ian Bissett.  (see contact details below)

Background

Colorectal cancer is one of the major causes of illness and death in New Zealand. Maori have poorer survival from CRC than non-Maori. Mortality from colorectal cancer (CRC) is higher in NZ than in Australia and most other countries. This is partly due to the high incidence of CRC in NZ but may also be related to the availability of appropriate services and access to these services. NZ health services cannot meet the demand for timely investigation and treatment of people with CRC, nor can they provide surveillance for individuals at increased risk of CRC according to the published guidelines for New Zealand. The Ministry of Health is considering screening for CRC. Screening would place further pressure on existing services.

Aim

To develop a microsimulation model of CRC in NZ, apply epidemiological, clinical, economic and qualitative data to this model, and provide essential information for the control of CRC in NZ.

Investigators

Dr Patrick Graham
Dr Diana Sarfatidiana.sarfati@wnmeds.ac.nz
Mr Magnus McGee 
Dr Ian Sheerinian.sheerin@otago.ac.nz
Dr Gillian Abelgillian.abel@otago.ac.nz 
Ms Suzanne Pitamasuzanne.pitama@otago.ac.nz
Dr Phil Hiderphil.hider@otago.ac.nz
Dr Lee Thompsonlee.thompson@otago.ac.nz
Asst Prof Bridget RobinsonBridget.Robinson@cdhb.govt.nz
Asst Prof Brian Cox
Dr Tony Reeder
Dr Terri Greenterri.green@canterbury.ac.nz
Dr Susan ParrySParry@middlemore.co.nz
Mr Ian Bissetti.bissett@auckland.ac.nz

Past Investigators

Prof Ann Richardson [original principal investigator]
Dr Lisa Fitzgerald

Technical Advisors

Prof Tony Blakelytony.blakely@otago.ac.nz
Dr Patricia Priestpatricia.priest@otago.ac.nz