Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

The Division of Humanities has great teachers, and that is something to be acknowledged and celebrated. For this reason the Division offers up to three teaching awards each year.

The application process is modelled on that of the University of Otago Teaching Excellence Awards. This provides a clear stepping stone from success in our divisional awards to success in the University's awards, and from there to success in the National Tertiary Teaching Excellence Awards. For this reason no one who has won a University of Otago Teaching Excellence Award may apply for a Division of Humanities award.

Each award comes with a grant of $500 that may be used for teaching purposes.

View / download the application notes

Closing date for applications

The closing date for applications in the 2023 round of teaching awards will be 5pm on 27 October 2023.

The winners will be announced on 10 November 2023.

Back to top