Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Ko ngā Whakarewanga Kauhau Ahorangi

The current series of Inaugural Professorial Lectures was established in 1996 with the broad aim of promoting and celebrating the academic reputation of professorial staff.

The series makes an important contribution to the University's role within the wider community by providing a public forum for leading research and enhancing Otago's statutory role as critic and conscience of society.

 Visit the events page for detailed information about upcoming Inaugural Professorial Lectures, including livestream links.

2020 Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Professor Lecture details
Neil Waddell
Department of Oral Rehabilitation, Faculty of Dentistry

Thursday 5 March 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

POSTPONED - Suzanne Pitama
Māori/Indigenous Health Institute (MIHI), University of Otago, Christchurch
Tuesday 31 March 2020, 11:30am
Rolleston Lecture Theatre, University of Otago, Christchurch
POSTPONED - Colin Gavaghan
Faculty of Law and Director of the New Zealand Law Foundation Centre for Law and Policy in Emerging Technologies
April 2020
Miles Lamare
Department of Marine Science
Monday, 3 August 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Rhiannon Braund
Department of Preventive and Social Medicine
Tuesday, 11 August 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
POSTPONED - Ceri Warnock
Faculty of Law
Tuesday, 18 August 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
William Levack, Dean
University of Otago, Wellington
Wednesday, 19 August 2020, 5:30pm
Nordmeyer Theatre, Wellington
Jacob Edmond
English and Linguistics
Monday, 31 August 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
POSTPONED - Rachel Zajac
Department of Psychology
Julia Horsfield
Department of Pathology
Tuesday, 8 September 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Niels Kjaergaard
Department of Physics
Thursday, 17 September 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Brent Lovelock
Centre for Recreation Research, Department of Tourism
Tuesday, 22 September 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Esko Wiltshire
Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
Wednesday, 24 September 2020, 5:30pm
Nordmeyer Theatre, Wellington
Katrina Sharples
Department of Mathematics and Statistics and Department of Medicine
Tuesday, 29 September 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Christine Jasoni
Department of Anatomy
Monday, 5 October 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Jean Hay-Smith
Department of Medicine, Wellington
Monday, 2 November 2020, 5:30pm
Nordmeyer Theatre, Wellington
Debra Waters
School of Physiotherapy
Tuesday, 10 November 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Richard Macknight
Department of Biochemistry
Monday, 16 November 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Bruce Robertson
Department of Zoology
Monday, 23 November 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Will Sweetman
Religion Programme
Monday, 30 November 2020, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre