Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Ko ngā Whakarewanga Kauhau Ahorangi

The current series of Inaugural Professorial Lectures was established in 1996 with the broad aim of promoting and celebrating the academic reputation of professorial staff.

The series makes an important contribution to the University's role within the wider community by providing a public forum for leading research and enhancing Otago's statutory role as critic and conscience of society.

Visit otago.ac.nz/events for detailed information about upcoming Inaugural Professorial Lectures, includings livestream links.

2019 Inaugural Professorial Lectures

Professor Lecture details
Professor Ruth Empson
Department of Physiology, School of Biomedical Sciences

Tuesday 12 February 2019, 5.30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Sarah Young
Department of Pathology

Wednesday 27 February 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Haxby Abbott
Department of Surgical Sciences

Tuesday 12 March 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Hazel Tucker
Department of Tourism

Monday 25 March 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Greg Anderson
Centre for Neuro Anatomy, School of Biomedical Sciences
Tuesday 16 April 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Rachael Taylor Deputy
HoD Medicine, Director Edgar Diabetes and Obesity Research Centre
Tuesday 30 April 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Peter Fineran
Department of Microbiology and Immunology School of Biomedical Sciences
Tuesday 14 May 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Martin Sellbom
Department of Psychology
Wednesday 22 May 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Jessica Palmer
Faculty of Law
Monday 27 May 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 4 Lecture Theatre
Professor Michael Schultz
Dunedin School of Medicine

Wednesday 5 June 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre

Professor Jeremy Krebs
Department of Medicine, University of Otago, Wellington
Wednesday 12 June 2019, 5:30pm
Nordmeyer Lecture Theatre
University of Otago, Wellington
Professor Lisa Ellis
Department of Philosophy : Department of Politics
Tuesday 9 July 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Lachlan Paterson
Te Tumu
Monday 29 July 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Alister Neill
Department of Medicine
Wednesday 7 August 2019, 5:30pm
Nordmeyer Lecture Theatre
University of Otago, Wellington
Professor James Crowley
Department of Chemistry
Monday 12 August 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor George Dias
Department of Medicine
Tuesday 10 September 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Chris Brickell
Sociology, Gender Studies and Criminology
Monday 16 September 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Lois Surgenor
Department of Psychological Medicine, Christchurch
Wednesday 25 September 2019, 5:30pm
Christchurch
Professor Brendan McCane
Department of Computer Science
Wednesday 23 October 2019, 5:30pm
Moot Court, Level 10 Richardson Building
Professor Lynette Sadleir
Department of Paediatrics and Child Health
Wednesday 13 November 2019, 5:30pm
Nordmeyer Lecture Theatre
University of Otago, Wellington
Professor Sheila Skeaff
Department of Human Nutrition
Monday 18 November 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre
Professor Chris Button
School of Physical Education, Sport and Exercise Sciences
Monday 25 November 2019, 5:30pm
Archway 1 Lecture Theatre