Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Academic key dates

Ngā rā matua o te tau

Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec Jan 2022

June

Friday, 4 June
Lectures cease before mid-year examinations
Monday, 7 June
Queen’s Birthday
Wednesday, 9 June
Semester 1 examinations begin
Tuesday, 15 June
Applications due from students taking only semester 2 papers for a programme subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2021
Wednesday, 23 June
Semester 1 examinations end
Friday, 25 June
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking only semester 2 papers

^ Top of Page

July

Thursday, 1 July
Applications open for most entrance scholarships for 2022
Monday, 5 July
Latest arrival date for new international students studying in semester 2
Monday, 5 July
Enrolment/Orientation activities for new international students (until Friday 9 July)
Saturday, 10 July
Fees due for semester 2 only enrolments
Monday, 12 July
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration by students taking only semester 2 papers (late fee may apply)
Monday, 12 July
Semester 2 begins
Friday, 16 July
Last day to add semester 2 papers (5pm deadline)
Friday, 30 July
Last day to delete semester 2 papers with refund of fees (5pm deadline)

^ Top of Page

August

Sunday, 1 August
Applications for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation open
Sunday, 15 August
Applications close for most entrance scholarships for 2022
Monday, 16 August
Live streaming of the 21 August 2021 Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 21 August
Graduation ceremony
Saturday, 28 August
Mid-semester break begins
Tuesday, 31 August
Applications due for first enrolment in Bachelor of Teaching programme in 2022

^ Top of Page

September

Wednesday, 1 September
Audition applications due for Performance papers in Music and for Bachelor of Performing Arts programmes in 2021
Monday, 6 September
Semester 2 resumes
Tuesday, 14 September
Applications due for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation
Wednesday, 15 September
Applications due for first-year courses in Dental Technology, Oral Health and Radiation Therapy, and second year classes in Dentistry, Medical Laboratory Science, Medicine, Pharmacy and Physiotherapy in 2022
Friday, 17 September
Last day to withdraw from semester 2 and full-year papers (5pm deadline)
Thursday, 30 September
Applications due for full-year and semester 1 residential college accommodation

^ Top of Page

October

Friday, 1 October
Applications due for second-year classes in Law in 2022
Friday, 15 October
Lectures end before semester 2 examinations
Wednesday, 20 October
Semester 2 examinations begin
Monday, 25 October
Labour Day

^ Top of Page

November

Monday, 1 November
Applications due for the third stage of the Bachelor of Social Work programme in 2022
Saturday, 13 November
Semester 2 examinations end
Monday, 15 November
Applications due for second-year classes in Surveying in 2022

^ Top of Page

December

Friday, 10 December
Applications due from all new and recommencing students, and returning students applying for a new programme, commencing in Summer School or semester 1 subject to the Entry Pathway system in 2022 (subject to change)
Friday, 10 December
Honours and Postgraduate Diploma programmes in Applied Science, Arts and Music, Commerce, Education, Theology, and Science (late applications will be accepted). Most masters’ degree programmes (late applications normally accepted)
Saturday, 11 December
Graduation ceremonies
Wednesday, 15 December
Due date for submission of 2022 Summer School papers for course approval (subject to change)
Wednesday, 15 December
Graduation ceremonies
Saturday, 18 December
Graduation ceremonies

^ Top of Page

January 2022

Wednesday, 5 January
University reopens
Monday, 10 January
Due date for completion of course enrolment declaration concerning Summer School papers (late fee may apply)
Monday, 10 January
Summer School classes begin
Saturday, 15 January
Due date for submission of papers for course approval by students taking semester 1 or full year papers

1 Applications from first-year and transferring PhD and Masters’ (thesis) students may be accepted throughout the year.
2 Teaching periods, examination periods and holiday dates for Teacher Education, Dentistry, Medicine, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, and some postgraduate courses may differ from the above. Please contact the appropriate School or Department for more information.