Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

23rd & 24th November
Hutton Theatre, Otago Museum.

Ag@otago logo In 2017 the OERC partnered with Ag@otago. with keynotes presenting very topical themes of "Decarbonising Agriculture by 2050", New Zealand ETS post-election 2017 and The future of Energy & Energy Research. The Symposium was opened by Deputy Vice Chancellor Professor Richard Blaikie.

Download the Symposium abstract booklet here.

OERC symposium 019   eric pellicer v2OERC symposium 073 suzi kerrOERC symposium 093  simon arnoldOERC symposium 086  himadri pakrasiOERC symposium 067  martin hohmanmarriot v2OERC symposium 033 frank griffin v2OERC symposium 044   william mook v2OERC symposium 055  hugh campbell v2OERC symposium 030   231117 email

Click here to view the full 2017 OERC Symposium & Ag@otago photo Album

Student Prizes

This year we awarded 3 student prizes of $500. Powerco sponsored the 'OERC best student paper prize' won by Ross Hogue for his presentation ""Producing hydrogen from water and sunlight using molecular cobalt catalysts". Zeecol sponsored 2 prizes 'Ag@otago best student paper prize' won by Oseweuba Okoro for his presentation "Anaerobic co-digestion of defatted hydrolyzed meat processing dissolved air flotation sludge and meat processing stockyard waste" and 'Best student poster prize' won by Sandeep Biswas for his poster on "PsbX is required for recovery from high-light-induced damage to Photosystem II in the cyanobacterium Synechocytis sp. PCC 6803" Congratulations to the winners and thank you to our sponsors.

oseweuba okoro photoross hogue photosandeep biswas photo

Keynote Symposium presentations

Symposium presentations

Symposium poster presentations

Public lecture

All available presentations are also on our slideshare page OERC_Otago_University

For further information contact Jane Wilcox at

This event was kindly sponsored by:

image logo Zeecolimage logo Powerco

Back to top