Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

School of Performing Arts News

18 Sep 2023

Six60 2024 Scholarship recipients announced

Four talented Otago students are shocked and excited to have been selected as ne...

M 4

17 May 2023

Music a way to forget about everything that’s going on

For one University of Otago honours student, music is a creative outlet that all...

te matatini Hineani image

20 Mar 2023

Tauira realise dream on Te Matatini stage

University of Otago tauira took centre stage at Aotearoa’s most popular Te Matat...

Professor Simone Marshall, highly commended awardees Dr Fairleigh Gilmour and Dr Dan Osland, award winner Dr Tessa Romano, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Humanities, Professor Jessica Palmer image 1

25 Nov 2022

Continuous learner Dr Tessa Romano wins Division of Humanities Teaching Award

Dr Tessa Romano, Pūkenga, Te Kāhui Tau/Lecturer of Voice, School of Performing A...

Calla Knudson image

05 Oct 2022

Award winner plans on improving opera’s appeal

Keeping opera relevant in today’s world is one of the main goals of an Otago mus...

Claire Barton stage cropped image

05 Oct 2022

A different kind of Dunedin sound

Most people are aware of the indie rock style of music called the Dunedin Sound,...

Six60 image

24 Aug 2022

Six60 scholarship recipients announced

Four musically talented University of Otago students have been selected as the r...


23 Aug 2022

‘Crazy academic journey’ an empowering experience

Lovely Luafitu has overcome “many challenges” on her way to graduating with a Ba...

David - Image

16 Aug 2022

“Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there and stand out.”

This Bachelor of Performing Arts graduand is ready to cross the stage this month...

Jake - Image

16 Aug 2022

Ones to Watch: Jake Callender

Following their performance dreams is Bachelor of Arts (Theatre and Dance) gradu...

Theatre 1 image

10 Aug 2022

Lunchtime Theatre returns

Lunchtime Theatre is back and students are “chomping at the bit” to tread the bo...

Chicago Image

11 Jul 2022

Students take the lead in dark comedy vaudeville

Who says jazz, murder and education can’t go hand in hand?...

Capping Show Image

11 Jul 2022

Capping Show theme expected to be a hit

It may be the longest running student revue in the world, but the creators of Ot...


27 Jun 2022

Mozart Fellow pens opera 'The Strangest of Angels' 

A 'harrowing, compelling' opera referencing Janet Frame's time at Seacliff Menta...

Samuel Image

21 Jun 2022

Ones to Watch: Samuel Leaper

The third-year Bachelor of Music student has had a busy year between studying, s...

Ihlara McIndoe image 1

20 Jun 2022

A passion for music, law and international travel

An international travel scholarship is helping Otago alumna Ihlara McIndoe head...

Back to top