Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

What is the EAG ?

The EAG (formally O-zone) was established in 2007, comprising of early to mid-career researchers recognized by either the University, or by being awarded an externally funded fellowship, as being emerging leaders in their field of research. To maintain focus on early career researchers, membership of the group is for a five-year term.

Membership of EAG is made up of:

  • Recipients of the University of Otago Early Career Award for Distinction in Research, Rowheath Trust Award and the Carl Smith Medal (past 5 years)
  • Rutherford Discovery Fellows (Royal Society Te Apārangi)
  • Sir Charles Hercus Health Research Council Fellows
  • Convenors of Divisional ECR groups
  • Other members who have been co-opted onto the group to ensure diversity in representation

What does EAG do?

The EAG has four main aims:

  1. To facilitate communication to and within early career researchers throughout the University
  2. To facilitate interdisciplinary networking and collaboration between early career researchers at the University of Otago
  3. To increase the profile and external visibility of early career researchers at the University of Otago
  4. To advocate for an environment which is conducive to the advancement of early career researchers across the University.

EAG strongly encourages early career researchers from across the University Campuses to contact convenors to highlight upcoming opportunities or events of potential interest to early and mid career researchers, raise awareness on issues they may be experiencing, or to alert the group of any assistance they might require or can provide to other early career staff.

Leadership of the EAG

The leadership of EAG is formed of a convenor, a deputy convenor Māori, and deputy convenors from each Division. These positions are rotated biannually.  The EAG convenor also sits on the University of Otago Research Committee to represent early career research staff.

Dr Rosie Brown

Tel +64 3 479 8207

Dr Carolina Loch

Deputy Convenor Health Sciences
Tel +64 3 479 9255

Dr Meredith Peddie

Deputy Convenor Sciences
Tel +64 3 479 8358

Associate Professor John Shaver

Deputy Convenor Humanities
Tel +64 3 471 6459

Dr Sebastian Gehricke

Deputy Convenor Commerce
Tel +64 3 479 5450

Dr Nathan Kenny

Deputy Convenor Māori
Tel +64 3 479 9592

Dr Jess Pasisi

Deputy Convenor Pacific
Tel +64 3 479 8364

EAG members

EAG resources

EAG represents, supports and advocates for earlier career researchers at the University of Otago.

The group maintain an email list of early and mid career researchers; if you are an early or mid career researcher who is not on this list, please email

The EAG also supports and communicates with Divisional Early Career Research Groups

Back to top