Accessibility Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content Skip to Search Skip to Site Map Menu

Funding opportunities

Clocktower.

Upcoming funding

The current funding opportunities are available below.

Download Funding Opportunities for the period commencing: Research News - 3 December 2018 (in PDF format, 510KB).

If you would like the Research Opportunities emailed out to you weekly, you can join the ResearchInfo List. You can subscribe to the List by going to http://lists.otago.ac.nz/listinfo/researchinfo and enter in your email address, your name, and then click on Subscribe. If you have any problems subscribing please contact the Research and Enterprise Office.

When you need to contact us

Staff are reminded that every application for external research funding needs to come through Research and Enterprise. If you are not sure, please call and we will be able to advise you. All grant applications and proposals must be accompanied by a completed, signed internal budget. Completed documents must be passed on to the Research & Enterprise Office who will submit them on behalf of the researcher(s).

Please inform your Research Advisor if you intend to apply as Principal Investigator for any contestable funding, whether advertised here or not, at the beginning of the development of your application. The same situation exists if you have been approached by researchers at another institution/organisation to collaborate on a funding proposal where Otago is not the lead institution and/or is not submitting the proposal. Contact details for Research Advisors are given below.

University of Otago Research Grants (UORG)

Applications for University of Otago Research Grants, administered centrally by the Research Committee, are invited once per year for requests in excess of:

  • $2,500 for Humanities disciplines
  • $5,000 for Social Sciences disciplines
  • $10,000 for the Life, Human and Biomedical, Physical and Clinical and Public Health Sciences.

Applications are considered by panels established by the Research Committee, taking into account the excellence of the research proposed, the research record of applicants and the overall research perspectives of the University. The Research Committee will give special consideration to grants which enable eligible staff to develop a research profile to the extent that they become better able to compete for externally funded grants and also to support excellence in research and scholarship for which external funds are not readily available. Grants are generally for one year but a small portion of the money is available for two or three year projects.

The Committee gives special consideration to applications from early career staff.

The application round for these grants occurs annually in May.

Research forms and guidelines

^ Top of page

Major equipment grants

The announcement of a new round is sent out electronically to Pro-Vice-Chancellors, Deans and Heads of Departments early each year.

Researcher Toolkit forms

^ Top of page

Māori consultation

Information on Māori consultation

^ Top of page

Ethics and Regulatory Consents

Ethics and Regulatory Consents

Costings and Consents worksheet

A University of Otago Costings and Consents Worksheet (CCW) is required for all applications, signed by the applicant, their Head of Department/Resource Centre and their Dean/PVC, in accordance with University policy on externally funded research. You can download the latest version of our CCW. For advice on the use of the CCW to develop costings for your project, please contact your Research Advisor.

The University of Otago Policy Document on Externally Funded Research outlines both the need for and the usage of the CCW.

Checklist for submitting grant proposals

  • Copy of the application (signed by applicant, and HoD/Dean if requested by funder)
  • University of Otago Costing & Consents Worksheet (CCW) (signed by applicant, HoD and Dean/AVC, including copies of ethical/regulatory approvals)

The Research and Enterprise Office then obtains the authorised signature of the University for you, copies the application, and sends it to the funding body by the due date.

Contact details for the Research Advisor Team

For further information, advice and assistance regarding anything to do with contestable research funding, please contact the Research Advisor for your Division/Department:

Division of Health Sciences

Microbiology and Immunology

Dr Melony Black
Tel 64 3 479 4594
Email melony.black@otago.ac.nz

General Practice & Rural Health, Psychological Medicine, Women's & Children's Health, Preventive & Social Medicine

Ali Cameron
Tel 64 3 470 9030
64 3 470 9030

Email ali.cameron@otago.ac.nz

Anatomy, Physiology

Dr Eric Lord
Tel 64 3 479 4592
Email eric.lord@otago.ac.nz

Biochemistry, Medicine, Pathology, Surgical Sciences

Dr Edwin Meijerink
Tel 64 3 479 4190
Email edwin.meijerink@otago.ac.nz

Dentistry, Pharmacy, Physiotherapy, International Health

Diana Rothstein
Tel 64 3 479 4043
Email diana.rothstein@otago.ac.nz

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Dr Marjolein Righarts
Ph: 64 21 988 470
Email: marjolein.righarts@otago.ac.nz

University of Otago, Christchurch (UOC)

Karen Chaney
Tel 64 3 364 1593
Email karen.chaney@otago.ac.nz
Website http://www.uoc.otago.ac.nz/research/

Kosta Tabakakis
Tel 64 3 378 6370
Email kosta.tabakakis@otago.ac.nz

Wellington School of Medicine & Health Sciences (WSMHS)

Website www.uow.otago.ac.nz/Research/index.html

Christine Groves
Tel 64 4 918 6855
Email christine.groves@otago.ac.nz

Kate Sloane
Tel 64 4 918 6252
Email: kate.sloane@otago.ac.nz

Division of Sciences

Applied Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Food Science, Human Nutrition, Mathematics & Statistics, Physical Education, Physics, Psychology

Kate Berard
Tel 64 3 479 8484
Email kate.berard@otago.ac.nz

Botany, Geology, Marine Science, Surveying, Zoology. Team Leader - Division of Sciences

Division of Humanities

Division of Humanities (except CSAFE), Bioethics, HEDC

Marjolein Righarts
Ph: 64 21 988 470
Email: marjolein.righarts@otago.ac.nz

Division of Commerce

School of Business, CSAFE

Dr Gabrielle Hine
Tel 64 3 479 5934
Email gabrielle.hine@otago.ac.nz

General enquiries

Dunedin Research and Enterprise Office
Email research@otago.ac.nz

Senior Research Administrators

Rhonda McSkimming - Team Leader Research Administration
Tel 64 3 479 5671
Email rhonda.mcskimming@otago.ac.nz

Carmen Chatfield
Tel 64 3 479 5294
Email carmen.chatfield@otago.ac.nz

Janet Kerr
Tel 64 3 479 9093
Email janet.kerr@otago.ac.nz

Lindsay Greenwood
Tel 64 3 479 8413
Email lindsay.greenwood@otago.ac.nz

Rosemary Wallbutton
Tel 64 3 479 5978
Email rosemary.wallbutton@otago.ac.nz

Fiona Seaton
Tel +64 3 479 5967
Email fiona.seaton@otago.ac.nz

Tina Uiese (Wellington)
Tel 64 4 918 6552
Email tina.uiese@otago.ac.nz