Red X iconGreen tick iconYellow tick icon

Please do not contact this university directly.
For all enquiries please contact the Exchange Office at
Last updated June, 2018

Academic Information

Language of Instruction

CUHK is a bilingual university: English, Cantonese and Putonghua are used for instruction. You can choose courses from the Faculty of Arts, Business Administration, Engineering, Science or Social Science. In addition to this, you may also take courses from the International Asian Studies Programme. This programme includes Chinese, Asian and International Studies courses and Chinese language courses.

Course Information

The requirements for taking undergraduate law courses (with the prefix of SLW) are:
Major in Law at home university and having not failed any course at home university.

Semester Dates

  • Academic Year: August - May
  • Fall term: August - December
  • Spring term: January - May
  • CUHK study dates

Course Load and Minimum Unit Requirements

  • Minimum Course Load: 9 Units (3 courses per semester)
  • Maximum Course Load: 18 Units (6 courses per semester)

Accommodation and the Cost of Living


Undergraduate exchange students are guaranteed in on-campus housing and are assigned to double or triple-occupancy rooms. Living with local students will ease the transition to a new environment and promote Chinese culture immersion. On-campus housing is assigned automatically; application is not required.

Accommodation at CUHK

Estimated Cost of Living

Please budget for HKD 42,000 per semester (2018-2019).

Scholarships available for students going to Asia

Additional information

Student Visa and Insurance

Information on Student Visas and Insurance for students going on exchange can be found elsewhere on this website.

Exchange experiences

The University, City and Region

The University

As the second oldest university in Hong Kong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK) is a leading comprehensive research university with a global vision and a mission to combine tradition with modernity, and to bring together China and the West. Overlooking the scenic Tolo Harbour, the University has 61 departments under the Faculties of Arts, Business Administration, Education, Engineering, Law, Medicine, Science and Social Science with over 20,000 students undertaking undergraduate, postgraduate and doctoral programmes.

CUHK is the only university in Hong Kong with a college system. The University's nine Colleges include Chung Chi, New Asia, United, Shaw, Morningside, S.H. Ho, C.W. Chu, Wu Yee Sun and Lee Woo Sing. Each undergraduate student is affiliated with one of the Colleges, which offer accommodation, informal learning and academic and cultural immersion to students.


The City of Hong Kong and Region

Hong Kong is divided into four main areas-Kowloon, Hong Kong Island, the New Territories and the Outlying Islands. Kowloon and the New Territories are on a peninsula of the Chinese mainland, on the northern side of Victoria Harbour; Hong Kong Island is on the southern side of the harbour facing Kowloon; the Outlying Islands simply refers to any of the other 234 islands. The New Territories have a 20km land border with China proper.

The city itself is centred around Victoria Harbour. The main business district is Central, on Hong Kong Island. East of Central lies the Admiralty commercial district; Wan Chai, known for restaurants and clubs; then Causeway Bay, a major shopping area. Towering above it all is the Peak, Hong Kong's premier scenic outlook and residential district, which happily has plenty of public green space. In Kowloon, Tsim Sha Tsui (on the southern tip), Jordan and Yau Ma Tei are busy hotel and shopping areas, while Mong Kok is a bustling residential and shopping area.

Despite its British colonial past, Hong Kong has always stuck to its roots, and the culture beneath the glitz is pure Chinese.

Hong Kong

Further Information

For further information about Otago Global Student Exchange please email

Related Info

Related Pages

Back to top